19
Nov
06

O.J. Simpson: “If I Did It”….IF?

On Tuesday, November 14 I woke up as usual to the sound of Fox News coming through my clock radio. I never know what I’m going to hear on the news each morning. Sometimes I’m encouraged; other times I’m discouraged. But I am always given something interesting to think about first thing in the morning. This past Tuesday I was downright appalled.

It seems that O.J. Simpson has a new book out. No, it is not entitled “Getting On With My Life”. Nor is it entitled “How I Miss My Wife: The Story of an Untimely Widower”. Any of these would seem like an appropriate title. No, the Juice went for something with a little more flare: “If I Did It”. Fox News reported that this book “hypothetically describes” how O.J. would have committed the murders if he had been the killer. Whaa?

Call me sentimental, but if I were in Mr. Simpson’s place and my wife was brutally murdered in cold blood and I was sure that I did not commit the crime, the last thing I would care to do is contemplate how I could have done it. You can bet that if my wife was murdered, I would lead a tireless search to discover the identity of the murderer (assuming it was not me). I would leave no stone unturned. But not Orenthal James Simpson.

The interesting thing for me is to consider the reasons he must have for writing such a provocative book. Why in the world did he think this was a good idea? Many reasons could be presented but I believe that any one of them would, at it’s core, come back to one of two primary motives.

I submit that either:

1) He has a guilty conscience and wishes to confess the whole affair openly. With the double jeopardy defense provided by the Fifth Amendment, O.J. could proclaim his guilt from the rooftops and then go off to play a few rounds of golf with no worries. On the other hand, the fact that this book only “hypothetically describes” how he would have done it means that this really isn’t a true confession. At the very least it is simply an exercise in morbidity.

Or

2) He just needed the money…plain and simple. You know, he hasn’t played football in a long time. So not only does he no longer receive an NFL salary, but he also does not get those lucrative advertising contracts that sports figures often enjoy. It would not the first time a person had used scandal to raise personal capital. Such a controversial writing of this just might give him the income he needs for that new car, or that new set of golf clubs, or *fill in the blank*.

There may be other possible reasons as to why O.J. Simpson decided to author and publish such a disturbing work. But I believe they come down to either a confession or downright greed. Unfortunately I have to admit that I am somewhat of a cynic. I personally feel that the latter, is probably closest to the mark.

Greed will cause people to do silly things. It has always had that ability. But can it really cause a man to sell out the memory of his murdered wife? I suppose we shall see as this whole debacle unfolds.

Josh H.

7 Responses to “O.J. Simpson: “If I Did It”….IF?”


  1. 1 J
    November 19, 2006 at 8:52 pm

    He’s quite mad. And he needs the money.

  2. 2 Kev
    November 20, 2006 at 10:51 am

    Since virtually every book eventually makes it to “book on tape” status, I wonder who will narrate O.J.’s book? Robert Blake seems like a fitting choice, but since Morgan Freeman narrates everything under the sun, my money’s on him.

  3. November 21, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    Kevin, that made me laugh out loud. Yeah, the whole “if I did it” thing is pretty gross. What ever happened to having a respect for the dead?

  4. 4 Josh H
    November 21, 2006 at 7:28 pm

    Well, today I heard that the book deal and the T.V. spot that was planned have both been canceled. Sounds like someone got a clue.

  5. November 22, 2006 at 8:21 pm

    Do you realize that 90% of blacks agreed with the verdict, and 30% of everyone else? For those, I wish along with Krauthammer (below article) that his conditioned confession would have come out for all to see in all its ugliness.

    http://www.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,1562076,00.html

  6. 6 Josh H
    November 22, 2006 at 8:29 pm

    No joke, Jerry. Despite the strangeness of it all, I was hoping that it would shut some people u…I mean silence the O.J. proponents (I almost forgot to use “blog speak”).


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


