03
Dec
06

10 Reasons to Get a Mac

My Cat Tom on top of my MacToday I am going to finally do it. I am going to cease with the snide comments about Windows. Furthermore I am going to quit saying “It’s just better.” Today I am going to give my top 10 reasons that you should get a Mac. Even though these are numbered, they are in no particular order. Nor is this an exhaustive list. These are simply a few of the reasons I believe the Macintosh platform is superior.

  1. Want Something Done? Just Tell It

    Have you ever told your Windows PC to perform a certain task and it either crashed or took forever to do the task you just told it? That had been my experience and I did not even realize how accustomed to it I had become. However I immediately noticed that any time I gave my Mac a task to perform or told it to run a certain application, it was johnny on the spot. No waiting, no crashing, no ridiculous questions (“Are you sure you want to close the program?” duh). It just worked. I told my mac-using friend how amazed I was that everything on my Mac system “just works like it is supposed to.” His response was a no-brainer: “Isn’t that why you purchase anything? Because you want it to work for you?” What a novel idea. Purchase a product that actually does what you expect without question and without a lot of frustration. Too many Windows users waste their time troubleshooting, tweaking and working bugs out of their system. Cut yourself a break. Get something that works.

  2. So Easy, a Child (or Your Grandma) Could Operate It

    When I pulled my Mac Mini out of the box, I was about to use a Mac for the very first time. However I did not need a textbook or a tutorial to help me. It was purely a matter of intuition. For any given application the menus were simple to figure out. If I wanted to perform a task and wasn’t sure where to find it, I would simply ask myself “where would I put that functionality?” I was right every time. The Macintosh is designed with the average user in mind. It is not designed solely for computer gurus who know all the ins and outs of personal computing. It is built for the user who simply wants to accomplish his computing tasks easily and without pulling his hair out.

  3. Four or Five Apps Running and It Just Keeps On Kickin’

    When I was running Windows, I had to pay attention to how many applications I was running. Sometimes I would get carried away and actually have my email client, my browser, and my music player running at the same time. Well, thankfully, my Mac handles multiple application situations just fine. It is kind enough to indulge my morbid fixation with actually working on more than one task at a time. Thank you, Macintosh, for enduring my twisted whims.

  4. It’s Ready To Go Right Out of the Box

    Upon firing up my Mac for the first time, I answered some basic questions (my name, a system password, and what language I would be using). After this it booted into Mac OS X and then it simply sat there patiently waiting for me to stop drooling and start using it. The first thing I did was surf the Web. I connected to my phone line (I had dial-up at the time) and I typed in my Internet Service information and was ready to go in about a minute. I clicked on Safari (Mac OS X’s browser) and I was online. Well that was easy. Next I imported my music and photos from my PC. No problem. iTunes and iPhoto handled them splendidly. I had anticipated a drawn out period of transition so I kept my old PC nearby. That period of transition lasted about half an hour. I proceeded to send a few emails using Mail (which was just as easy to set up) and play with some of the other useful apps that came on my Mac. By that evening I felt like a seasoned Mac pro. Everything was ready and waiting for me right out of the box. And perhaps the best part was that I didn’t have to uninstall a bunch of useless promotional garbage like I had to with a new PC.

  5. Three Words: iLife, iLife, iLife

    iLife is the name of Apple’s clever suite of digital media products. Every Mac comes fully equipped with the latest version of iLife. Are you already familiar with iTunes? Well then you are over half way to becoming an iLife virtuoso. All of the Macintosh applications have been built to follow a similar user interface scheme (whoa…there is way too much tech talk goin’ on here!). All I mean is each of the iLife apps look and operate in a similar manner. Whether you are managing photos with iPhoto, creating a home movie masterpiece with iMovie or recording an album or podcast with GarageBand, you are going to see similar menus and features. This helps you become familiar with all of the iLife apps quicker so you can get down to business doing what you need to do on your Mac. If you know one, you know ’em all!

  6. Where Would I Be Without Exposé?

    Exposé can be a little difficult to explain. But it’s usefulness is unmatched by any other tool I have ever used. With Exposé, I can easily view any or all of the windows I have open.

    Have you ever found a use for those little “F” keys along the top of your keyboard? Me either. Well, I hadn’t until I got a Mac. By striking the F9 key I enter an “all windows” view which shows me, basically, thumbnails of all the windows I have open and I simply select the one I want to see and then it quickly returns to normal view with the window I selected in the foreground. While in “all windows” view if I put my mouse over any window, the title of that window is prominently displayed.

    Now, when I have a particular window open, by striking F10 my Mac will show me all the open windows that are part of that same application. So if I have multiple Word documents open and I am currently working one of them and I need to see a different one, I simply strike F10 and all open Word documents will be displayed in a thumbnail view.

    The final feature of Exposé will allow me to strike the F11 key and all of my windows are moved off of the viewing area and I can access my desktop. By striking F11 again, all of my windows coming flying back into view and in their proper places. Could it get any easier?

  7. A Mac Doesn’t Bog Down Just Because It’s On

    The more I used Windows the more I noticed a strange (and unsettling) phenomenon. I knew of course that if I used my PC for extended periods that it would get slower and “boggier” during that time. That was, unfortunately, a given with Windows.
    However I noticed that if I would leave my computer unused for extended periods….the same thing would happen. So I had to get in the habit of shutting my PC down at night or at least restarting it every now and then to keep the performance level from going into the red.
    Now that I am a Mac owner the only time that I ever shut my computer down is during inclement weather (it seems that not even a Mac can withstand being jolted with a bolt of lightning) and I never have to worry about taking a performance hit. In fact you can even plug in a new peripheral (mouse, printer, etc.) without shutting down or restarting!

  8. Amazing Hardware Design

    Macs are designed to be not only aesthetically pleasing, but practical as well. The Macbook line of laptops are super thin making them extemely portable. The Mac desktops are even more amazing. Mac Mini (which is what I own) is only 6 inches square. So you’re desk or the floor beside or beneath your desk is not overcrowded by a big tower. The iMac consists of a flat panel monitor, a keyboard, and a mouse. That’s it! Because all of the “guts” are inside the monitor. Yeah, really! You feed CD’s and DVD’s into the side of the monitor and plug peripherals into the back. Other computer manufacturers have tried to imitate Apple’s great design, but it was Apple that pioneered and perfected these awesome configurations.

  9. No Viruses, Worms, etc….Zero, Zip, Nada

    Yes, ladies and gentlmen, it is true. There are no viruses for the Macintosh. The days of having to install 2 or 3 anti-virus programs just to protect your PC are over. I can not understand why consumers continue to sink their money into machines that are basically sitting ducks for viruses when a virus-free platform exists.

  10. Competitively Priced with Similar PC’s

    The main objection that people usually give for not getting Mac is that Macs are more expensive than PC’s. This, my dear friends, is a myth. You will find that if you buy a Windows PC with similar specs that Macs are no more expensive than a Dell. Sure, you can get a $200 XYZ computer with your basic Windows OS but be prepared to buy a new within the next 3 years. There are people who are still running and getting great service out of their iMac G3’s which came out in the late nineties. Not to mention, you have to deal with the performance problems, the absence of any useful software, and viruses (and more viruses and more viruses, and…). The amount of money you’d shell out for a Dell or an HP that has the same power, software and longevity as a Mac would be more than any comparable Mac. Not to mention that you miss out on all the little useful tools that only exist on a Mac (Exposé, Spotlight, Dashboard and many others that I haven’t mentioned).

  11. Yes, It’s true. I’m completely head over heels about Macs. I admit it. I’ve sold out, I’ve drank the kool-aid. Say what you want about me, but just admit that these are great machines. Take some time and browser around Apple’s website and learn more about Macintosh. Go ahead. They won’t bite. I think you will find that my zeal for all things Mac is not unfounded.

    Josh H.

9 Responses to “10 Reasons to Get a Mac”


  1. December 4, 2006 at 12:08 am

    Before I start, I want to say I have to ties to any operating system. Speed, stability, usability: These are what I strive for, be it mac, linux, windows. I really don’t care. I would also like to state, that I am aware Macs are good. I have used them before, you the ‘myth’ that Macs are better than PC’s irks me.

    SO, here I come.

    1)Mac stability is based on the fact that the operating is designed ONLY for the hardware in the machine. You can’t grab a random card or chip and throw it in there. It has to be a certain kind just for the operating system to recognize it. Now, this is all fine and dandy. I have no qualms, but every think that Windows is overall a horrible unstable OS. When in truth the instability of Windows is the users fault or creating a PC that doesn’t mesh well. Not all parts work well together.
    I honestly haven’t my machine crashed. Program crash but thats the programs fault, not windows.

    2)Grandma/child… this one amused me because my grandma (58 – I’m 20 btw :P) and my little sister (8 yrs) both use Windows. My sister is considerably better than my grandmother though. Now Linux, is a guru system. HOLY CRAP it can be confusing.

    3)The multi tasking… Again, this for windows depends on your machines hardware. If a person were to take the time and do some research, it is rather simple to build a machine that runs windows wonderfully. I have no problems multi taking. I am a web dev/graphic designer and I have PS CS2, music, browser, torrents, A/V, F/W, multitudes of folders open, IMs running, and half the time jEdit to work on some PHP/MySQL.

    4) Ready outta the box… Like I tell EVERYONE, don’t buy a PC. Have some one build you one. Buying a computer with windows already installed is asking for trouble. I have built many computers and I have installed windows 100’s of times, but I always found windows (a clean install) simple to setup and use. I agree if you buy one, all that extra crap totally ruins it. But a clean version of Windows is a breeze to setup and use.

    5)Boggier, eh? My current up time is somewhere near 4 weeks. Windows itself, I have never encountered a problem with. It has always been hardware issues; overheat ram or cpu’s. But again with a properly built machine, Windows runs fine.

    6) Viruses… many people screw themselves over with this one. I haven’t had a virus in months and the one I had before that was before I let my room mate use my pc. I have one firewall (open source) and one anti virus (a freeware version). No problems. You just don’t get viruses. The user has to somehow download them, be it loading the wrong web page to opening an email, but in the end it was the users actions that got them infected. And the main reason Mac doesn’t have viruses isn’t due to superior design. It’s because no one writes viruses for Mac because… what is it? 80% of the market is windows. And the 15% or whatever that use Mac are generally smarter than PC users so they aren’t clicking on every pop up or email.

    Overall I think I just tore mac pretty good. lol. Don’t get me wrong, I realize Mac’s are good, but it just bothers me when people think they are simply better, when truth use of a OS comes from the users end. I can make my windows do anything a mac does basically and be just as stable. Hell, given enough time, I bet ya I could get a Linux box to do the same ( and I realllllly suck at linux. lol. Like I don’t know how to install software on it).

  2. 2 kev
    December 4, 2006 at 3:10 pm

    I believe the UNIVAC will make a comeback one of these days. The market for people who want a computer that takes up an entire room is bigger than people think…

  3. 3 joshhorne
    December 4, 2006 at 5:09 pm

    Thanks for your response, bardicknowledge.

    Hey, I admitted that I had drank the kool-aid. But seriously, I know that Windows is not the spawn of Satan or anything (as many Mac users do). However I can not help but speak out of and give advice from my own experience and my Windows experience has been exasperating. Up until the Spring of 2005 I had used Windows exclusively at work and at home. I still have to use Windows XP at work though. The reasons for switching that I listed in this post were the reasons that were most important to me (note the last sentence of the introduction). They reflected the ways in which the Macintosh improved my computing experience.

    I understand that having someone build a PC for you may alleviate some of the problems (e.g. junk software) but not everyone has access to such a service. Again, I am talking about average users/consumers. But I do see your point, if someone wants a good running machine, they probably shouldn’t buy a PC. Maybe they should, if possible, seek out someone who can build them one or….get a mac.

    Now, considering your first point, I don’t see how you can throw a “random” anything into any system and expect it to work right. Compatibility is something you must consider with any platform.

    As for the grandma/child thing…touché. You’ve got my there. 😉

    On a final note, though, thank you for giving me legit objections to what I had to say. Too many people that have argued with me about this have either never used a Mac or they had some personal problem with Steve Jobs (go figure).

    kev, you may not believe it, but I have one of my spare bedrooms set aside for just such a comeback.

  4. December 4, 2006 at 7:34 pm

    I’m just glad you didn’t get offended. Often time when I start in on why one operating system isn’t better than other people stick to their guns and take offense.

    And I do see the value in Mac’s, but they just aren’t for me. Though I am considering switching to Linux soon.
    I am going to be building a linux box made out of a box of random ( 😛 ) hardware I have been gathering for the past year. I have no clue how well its going to work since I don’t particularly care or have the money to do what I want lol.

    It’s a pity people buy dell’s or whoever else sells pre made/installed machines. They are only asking for trouble. I’m sure almost every family today has someone that is techy enough to build a box. Heck, I just one day with no prior training to build one since I had the money, and I did with surprising ease. Everything is color coded ^_^

    But if Mac floats your boat, thats good. I hope if doesn’t give you any trouble. I suggest looking into linux if you get the chance though. It seems to be the way of the future. And getting a grasp on it now will only make life easier when Mac and PC are replaced by open source counter parts.

  5. 5 joshhorne
    December 4, 2006 at 8:01 pm

    Good luck on your Linux venture. I’ll try and keep up with your blog and maybe you can post something about the outcome.

  6. 6 kev
    December 5, 2006 at 12:35 pm

    My name is Kevin. I am a PC user and I like to play Devil’s Advocate.

    1) “Mac stability is based on the fact that the operating is designed ONLY for the hardware in the machine. You can’t grab a random card or chip and throw it in there … Now, this is all fine and dandy. I have no qualms, but (everyone thinks) that Windows is overall a horrible unstable OS.”

    This is true, but it is also one of the reasons people enjoy the Mac. Mixing and matching isn’t a problem. The same people who made the Operating System made the software, and those same people made the computer itself. When you have continuity in all phases of design, there are less hiccups.

    (Regarding Windows being an unstable OS, that one bugs me too. Most who believe that base their opinion on Windows 98 or ME. Those Operating Systems were headaches. Windows 2000 and XP, however, are very stable.)

    4) “Like I tell EVERYONE, don’t buy a PC. Have some one build you one. Buying a computer with windows already installed is asking for trouble.”

    All true, but a lot to ask from a typical consumer. Again, this is a reason Mac lovers love the Mac. You don’t have to worry about this issue. No assembly required.

    5) “Boggier, eh? My current up time is somewhere near 4 weeks. Windows itself, I have never encountered a problem with. It has always been hardware issues; overheat ram or cpu’s. But again with a properly built machine, Windows runs fine.”

    Back to Point #4. A properly built PC may indeed run perfectly while turned on for weeks on end, but to a casual consumer this means little.

    A new restaurant on the other side of town might have the world’s best hot wings, but if you have to jump through hoops and endure massive traffic jams to get there it’s hard to justify the journey when there is an Applebee’s right next door.

    6) “(T)he main reason Mac doesn’t have viruses isn’t due to superior design. It’s because no one writes viruses for Mac.”

    This is mostly true. An overwhelming, overwhelming majority of viruses are written for PCs. Because of this, Macs are immune to most viruses circulating the globe.

    You may discount this as a reason to be pro-Mac, but does it really matter WHY Macs are mostly virus free? To a consumer, all that matters is they ARE safer from viruses than PCs – be it due to superior design or the fact Macs are less common than PCs is of little consequence.

    That said, overall, the Mac does do a better job at virus prevention than the PC. I’ll list one example: Most PC users use their computer’s admin account. They do this out of either necessity or because they do not know any better. When using the Windows admin account, the core functions of the OS are vulnerable. However, in Mac’s admin account, access to the core functions of the OS is disabled.

    Not a real issue to an experienced computer user, but to a casual user this behind-the-scenes protection is huge.

    …End Devil’s Advocate Sequence…

  7. December 5, 2006 at 2:30 pm

    ^_^
    I hear ya…I live to two other guys that have no clue what they are doing when it comes to pc’s. I have to foten format for them because of all the crap they get on their machines.

    I agree with you totally though. Out of the box for the typical user, Macs may be better, but a XP PC can be just as realiable/stable as a Mac if everything is properly done.

  8. 8 Stas
    December 15, 2006 at 5:56 pm

    Hello Joshik! I have finaly discovered your blog and I read it from time to time, also, I have decided to start my own blog, about photography, based on wordpress too, I just need to customise it before I start writing.

    I agree with you about macs, because I am using a mac now too, and I am really happy with it. I have a 17″ PowerBook G4, a year old, but I am glad I bought it, and I will never go back to using PC’s. My grandma still doesn’t know how to use it though.

    Take care and eta tolsy glass tehbeh.

  9. 9 joshhorne
    December 15, 2006 at 6:01 pm

    Eta Tolsty Glas tehbeh to you, Stas.

    I’m so glad to hear from you! And I’m glad you are a Mac user.

    You should teach your babushka how to use the Mac. Be sure to let me know what your blog URL is!


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


