19
Dec
06

Rocky Balboa: The Italian Stallion Is Back!

Rocky BalboaFirst of all, I would like to welcome you all to the new and improved, “Christmas flavored” Smoak House. And I hope everyone found our domain change to be easy and painless. We appreciate your patience with us.

Now on with the topic at hand: Rocky. Let me start by saying that I have yet to see any of the Rocky movies in their entirety (I will soon be rectifying that). But I know the basic premise of the story. In the first film, a small-time boxer who is basically a nobody gets a chance to fight in a major event which catapults his career as a pugilist. The subsequent films continue his story of overcoming life’s obstacles. Even though I am not particularly a boxing fan, I am a sucker for stories that tell of the struggles, failures and triumphs of “the underdog”. So I am naturally drawn to movies like Rocky.

I have to admit that I had my doubts when I first heard about Sylvester Stallone’s new film “Rocky Balboa”. My first thought was that Sly must be hurtin’ for cash and was trying to play off of an old crowd pleaser (in much the same way as the Rolling Stones having a tour like every year whether they release a new album or not, because they can just play their old hits). Then today I was listening to the God’s Mac podcast in which the host was talking about the new Rocky film. He played some clips of an interview that Sylvester Stallone did with Motive Entertainment. In the interview, he spoke of how he grew up in a Christian home (his family is Catholic), but that once he got into “the real world he “lost his way. He admitted that he made some bad choices. It really got interesting when he went on to talk about the film itself.

Stallone stated that he had gone through alot of ups and downs in the last decade or so and he wanted to be able to tell some of the lessons in life, faith and values that he’s learned. But he pointed out that nobody cares about an actor. He needed to tell his story through a character that people knew and that people trusted. Rocky, he felt, was that character. He really felt that God was moving him in this direction and that it was Jesus that was prompting him to write this screenplay.

This is a great way to tell a story about faith and endurance through life’s hardships. The apostle Paul himself used many physical training analogies. One of the posters for “Rocky Balboa” picks up on this when it displays 2 Timothy 4:7: “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” In the interview Sly takes it a step further. He states that living for Christ is not something you can do on your own. Using the physical training analogy he says that we need a physical trainer. The church is a christian’s trainer. The church is where we get our nourishment. It’s through God’s word and the teaching thereof that we get our spiritual lives into shape so that we can fight the good fight. Many people have the attitude that since they have a “personal relationship” with God that they can do it alone and face life apart from the church. It is through fellowship with other believers and through learning God’s word together that a christian is best equipped to face this life. It will be interesting to see what sort of story Stallone tells through his Rocky character.

A website has been set up for the movie called Rocky Resources and I would encourage you to go to the website and click on the Greeting video on the right side of the site. What Sly has to say there interested me greatly and made me even more eager to check this movie out. Also you can get the mp3 for the Motive Entertainment interview on Rocky Resources under the Audio section of the site. I will certainly be setting aside time to see this movie. I don’t know if it will be great cinema but it (along with “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” and similar movies) will be a step in the right direction of seeing the Kingdom come in the entertainment industry in a way that it has not been able to before.

Josh H.

9 Responses to “Rocky Balboa: The Italian Stallion Is Back!”


  1. December 19, 2006 at 4:24 pm

    I think #1 and maybe #4 are the only ones that I have seen from beginning to end, but I enjoyed both. I heard his interview with Hannity the other day and I really like what he was saying about the movie. He didn’t get into all the spiritual stuff in that interview, but he had some good things to say. I think we may try to see it as well. David will be happy to know that I will actually be watching a “guy movie” with him for once.

  2. December 21, 2006 at 1:56 am

    Yeah, the one I’ve seen most of is the one with Mr. T. Is that 3??

  3. December 21, 2006 at 3:09 am

    Yes. #1 is Rocky vs. Apollo Vol. 1, #2 is Rocky vs. Apollo Vol. 2, #3 is Rocky vs. Clubber Lang (Mr. T), #4 is Rocky vs. Ivan Drago, and #5 is Rocky vs. Tommy Gunn (although not a real fight).

  4. December 21, 2006 at 3:16 am

    I believe we have a connoisseur here!

    Thanks, Heather!

  5. December 21, 2006 at 3:40 am

    Great! Now I can’t wait to hear how the upcoming Rambo V movie advances the Kingdom.

    Just a little jovial sarcasm – whatever happens with Rambo V, sounds like this movie has real potential for saying some very meaningful things.

  6. December 21, 2006 at 3:41 am

    Shoot – I mean Rambo VI.

  7. December 21, 2006 at 3:43 am

    Yeah, maybe they can Kirk Cameron to play in it (Left Behind style).

  8. December 21, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    Way to go, Heather, on your Rockys! I can watch Rocky, but not Rambo. Any movie about Vietnam veterans being treated badly(or about wars that were absolutely pointless–we should have tried to win!) always makes me sad . So, no matter what message another Rambo may try to bring, I won’t be watching it ; ) I cried so hard at the end of the first one that David thought something was wrong with me.

  9. 9 kev
    December 21, 2006 at 6:51 pm

    I can’t wait until a decade goes by and Stallone makes Rocky VII.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


