29
Dec
06

It’s Beginning to Look Alot Like the End of Christmas

Josh on ChristmasLyndsay on Christmas DayI just hate when the holidays are over. I know that I am supposed to be an adult and act mature. But I can’t help myself. I get so blasted excited at Christmas time. Yes, I still have a hard time going to sleep on Christmas Eve.

I love the traditions that are beginning to surface for Lyndsay and I when it comes to the holidays. On Christmas Eve we hang out with her family all day. We then have a light supper (or dinner –whichever you want to call it) and then it’s on to exchanging gifts with her parents and siblings and our niece and nephews. It’s fun and loud and crazy and I just love it. This Christmas Eve was no different. Besides the honor of giving gifts to those I love, I was blessed by their gifts of music (in the form of compact discs), clothing, and a great book, St. Augustine’s “The City of God”. Then that night, instead of sugarplums dancing in my head, I tossed and turned knowing that upon waking on Christmas Day, Lyndsay and I will spend a couple of hours alone exchanging gifts with one another. This is a very special time for us.

After waking on Christmas morning, Lyndsay, as usual, blew my mind with the awesome gifts she bought for me, among them being an Apple mouse, Trivial Pursuit 80’s edition, the new Skillet CD, and bunch of other awesome stuff. Lyndsay was the proud recipient of a cordless drill (for her many little projects she undertakes), a nifty t-shirt, a nice chenille throw, a couple of DVD’s and a few other trinkets. Also my Dad provided us with the means to purchase a great digital camera (and thanks to Steve and Renee for letting us try theirs out, so that we could confirm that we wanted one just like it!). We couldn’t be happier with it. All in all, a wonderful Christmas with some wonderful gifts being exchanged.

The holidays aren’t quite over yet though and I still have New Year’s to look forward to. This year (as last year) we will be having a masquerade party. I can’t wait to see everyone’s costume’s. If last year was any indication, then this year will be a veritable extravaganza of characters from film, books, and history.

May you all have a safe and happy New Year.

Josh H.

13 Responses to “It’s Beginning to Look Alot Like the End of Christmas”


  1. 1 kev
    January 1, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    Very fun New Year’s Eve party. I didn’t get to bed until 5 am, though. I think I was hopped up on Coke Zero.

  2. January 2, 2007 at 2:05 am

    Glad you had fun. We had a blast too. And we also didn’t get to bed until 4:30. I didn’t fall asleep until after 5. I think I was having a caffeine high as well.

  3. January 2, 2007 at 4:47 am

    Thank you for everything…I had such a great time with ya’ll!!

  4. January 2, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    I must have been overcaffinated myself. Even though we left at 2, I didn’t get to sleep till around 3 something. We had a great time, thanks! It was so good to see everyone (and meet new folks) after not having gotten together for a while.

  5. 5 kev
    January 2, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    So EVERYONE had trouble sleeping when they got home?? Hmmm…

    Methinks Josh injected all of us with a caffeine needle while we were distracted playing Invisible Football…

  6. January 2, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    but why would I inject myself?

  7. 7 kev
    January 3, 2007 at 5:22 am

    Three possible reasons:

    1) To throw us off track.
    2) You injected your arm thinking it was someone else’s.
    3) You accidentally injected yourself because you were distracted by my awesome costume.

  8. January 3, 2007 at 6:03 am

    I think it was definitely the third reason. I have never seen a closer resemblance to “Future Kevin” than your impression of him on Sunday night, Kevin. That was just pure genius.

  9. January 3, 2007 at 6:21 am

    Caffeine injection…or maybe it was those three pots of coffee??

  10. January 3, 2007 at 6:43 am

    But I didn’t drink any coffee 😕

  11. 11 kev
    January 3, 2007 at 10:05 am

    I didn’t drink any coffee either.

    My case for “Josh injected us with caffeine” just got a lot stronger.

  12. January 3, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    I slept like a rock, maybe it was me…..(maniacal laughter)

  13. January 3, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    My own wife!! That explains why you don’t see her in very many of the pictures.

    Or that could be because she was taking them (rats!).


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


