04
Jan
07

Go the Distance

Last night I had the pleasure of introducing my wife, Lyndsay, to the great cinematic masterpiece known as Field of Dreams. Field of DreamsI’m sure that many of you have seen this 1989 Kevin Costner film. It is about Ray Kinsella, a farmer who hears a strange voice that leads him to plow under his corn crop to build a baseball field and the adventure that ensues. Lyndsay was familiar with it but had never seen it. It has been probably 10 or so years since I’ve watched Field Dreams. I have always enjoyed the movie, however last night I got a whole lot more out of it than I had previously. I don’t know if it is because I’m older (or because I’m cornier) but more of the funny parts were funny to me this time. And more of the heartfelt parts were moving to me.

The biggest kick that I got out of viewing the movie again was a line that Costner’s character delivered right after completing the baseball field. He and his wife were lying near the pitcher’s mound on a blanket and talking. Kinsella then rose to his feet and looked around at the baseball field that he destroyed his crop to make. He chuckled to himself, gave a large grin and said “I have just created something totally illogical.” He then stood there a moment beaming with pride at his illogical creation.

I am not ashamed to admit that I laughed my head off at that moment. I had heard that line before but I had forgotten it and it completely caught me off guard. This was mostly due to the fact that the rest of the scene was not necessarily humorous. The sheer candor with which he acknowledged his own strange behavior was just hilarious.

I just love those times when I get to watch a movie or a show that I haven’t seemed since I was young. I often find some new humor or other jewel that I had not noticed before.

Josh H.

18 Responses to “Go the Distance”


  1. 1 Amy
    January 5, 2007 at 9:36 am

    That is one of my favorite movies, if not my all time favorite!

  2. January 5, 2007 at 9:55 am

    Is this the Amy that has the most exciting job in the world? Hi!
    Josh, I actually haven’t seen it. 😦 I am sure that having admitted this will earn me a lecture from Kevin, so I will try to watch it soon.

  3. January 5, 2007 at 10:43 am

    walker, you make me smile. i miss you guys.

  4. 4 kev
    January 5, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    What an awesome movie. Anyone who hasn’t seen it deserves a long, long, long lecture.

  5. January 5, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Dr. Kev, Kc.d (Doctor of Kevin Costner) will be your professor this semester.

  6. January 5, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Couldn’t I just watch the movie and avoid the lecture? 🙂

  7. January 5, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    I loved it too, Kev. It really threw me off guard that it was sort of fantastical. I wasn’t expecting that at all, I thought it was just a feel good baseball movie. I actually found myself wanting to check out other KC movies.

  8. January 7, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    We could watch Bull Durham next and then follow that up with Dances with Wolves…

    Or not.

  9. January 7, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    …or you could generate the same effect by simply jamming a butter knife behind your Achilles’ tendon.

    ~S

  10. January 8, 2007 at 12:07 am

    Well, I just got through watching it, and it was good. There were a few things that seemed a bit far fetched even for a far-fetched movie such as this one, but I really did like it. I cried when the doctor stepped off the field. That was so sad/sweet. The parts that I thought were really cool, though, were the little 80’s details,like the Strawberry Shortcake bedspread–they were just so nostalgic.
    So, Kevin, I hope you didn’t have a lecture prepared…

  11. January 8, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    I’m proud of you, Saige. Yeah, the part with the doctor gets to me too.

    But real men like me don’t cry. So I just sigh instead.

  12. January 8, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Well, I did some sighing myself trying not to cry too much. David came in to watch the last third of the movie with me, so I didn’t cry as freely as I would have by myself, I think.

    Hey, this makes the 12th comment on your original post. I think that’s a record for any from our group of bloggers–Congratulations!

  13. January 8, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    A record huh? Wow. I wish I had a speech prepared.

  14. January 8, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    You could say something like, “Thank you to all my friends and family who made this possible. Even now as I am typing, I am breaking another record. You guys are awesome! And thank you to Kevin Costner for such a fabulous movie–I couldn’t have done it without you, Kevin Costner” (be sure to add the last name here, lest “future Kevin” get the wrong idea about which Kevin you are thanking)”and to all my fellow bloggers, what can I say? You…” (here you choke up a bit and have to walk off stage, or end your post in this case). There you go, I’ve written it for you. 🙂 Feel free to add any necessary details that I may have forgotten to include.

  15. January 9, 2007 at 11:23 am

    that was brillianly done, saige. i think he should hire you as his speech writer!

  16. 16 kev
    January 9, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    The number of comments for this post proves one thing: People love to talk about Kevin Costner.

    And yes, brilliant speech, Saige. Kudos.

  17. January 9, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    Gosh! so many compliments, I might have to write a thank you speech for myself 😉


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


