02
Feb
07

Mac Mini RAM Upgrade

Mac Mini

I know, I know. Here comes another post about Macs. No, actually I just wanted to share some pictures from an interesting experience I just had. I upgraded the RAM in my Mac Mini. At the time that I purchased my computer, it came with 256MB of RAM stock. Not too good. So at the time of my purchase I ordered it with 512MB with the idea of upgrading it myself to 1GB later. That day has come. I got a great deal on a 1GB stick of RAM from eWiz and it arrived today. I have upgraded RAM before in a traditional, tower-style desktop. But nothing quite like the Mac Mini. I was aided by an installation instruction video from Other World Computing.

The Mini’s enclosure can only be removed by the use of a putty knife (yes, a putty knife). I simply had to turn it upside-down, insert the blade of the putty knife along the bottom edge of the chassis and pop it up. I was nervous doing it, but it turned out fine. The putty knife worked like a charm.

The cover removedAfter this was done, removing the old memory stick was pretty much the same as on any other computer. I had to unlock a couple of clips, pull out the old memory, and then insert the new memory in its place. I then reattached the cover to the chassis and plugged her back up. I was definitely not dissatisfied with the performance of my computer; I just wanted to be able to get all I could out of it. The memory upgrade has definitely made a difference. Applications open faster and everything is just a little snappier. All in all it was a simple process.

The newly-installed RAMMy next venture into Mac Mini upgrading will be to replace my current optical drive with one that will burn DVD’s. Stay tuned. And thanks for letting me share this interesting (albeit insignificant) experience with you.

 

Josh H.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Job Well Done!

11 Responses to “Mac Mini RAM Upgrade”


  1. 1 kev
    February 2, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    I’m guessing with its small size, there’s only room for one (memory) expansion slot, right?

    Enjoy the gig of RAM. You can now experience my Videos of the Week like never before…

  2. February 2, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    That’s right, just one slot. I suppose I should award you a grand prize for guessing, but I don’t have one.

    I’ve enjoyed the gig of RAM so far. It’s pretty nice.

  3. February 3, 2007 at 3:12 am

    Awww…I love my little computer nerd boyfriend.

  4. 4 Stephen D.
    February 3, 2007 at 9:09 am

    I am overjoyed, Josh! Not simply because your computer is faster, but because that means mine is: see, Josh let me take his 512K stick and put it in my woefully slowfully computer running at 256K, bringing me up to a clipping 768K of RAM! It’s very literally like a different computer. Thanks, Jerry.

  5. February 3, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Ya know, I figured that if I can do my part to bring a little computer love into someone’s life….then that makes it all worth it.

  6. February 3, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    I hear you Steve – with 768K of memory, you just might be able to run some of those smokin’ text based operating systems from the 80’s…

  7. 7 Stephen D.
    February 3, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    GEEZ! I’m an IDIOT!

    Of course I meant 768 MB.

    (Good to hear from you, Brent. Even if you did make me look like a moron.)

  8. February 4, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Nice catch, Brent. I didn’t even notice that Steve had made that glaring, embarrasing blunder thus looking like a moron.

  9. 9 kev
    February 5, 2007 at 11:03 am

    Dang. I wish I had been able to check the comments this weekend. I would’ve had a dozen 768k memory jokes for Steve!

  10. February 5, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    Why let that stop ya? Let’s have a good ‘ol fashion Steve roast right here at the Smoak House.

  11. 11 kev
    February 6, 2007 at 10:58 am

    I lied, I got nothin’.

    I’m losing my touch…


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


