12
Mar
07

You Know You’re From Georgia If….

1. You can properly pronounce Chickamauga, DeKalb, Dahlonega, Smyrna, Buena Vista, Valdosta, Okefenokee, and La Fayette.
P.S.. Atlanta = ADD-LANNA not AT-LANT-A, Georgia = JO-JA.

2. You think people who complain about the heat in their states are sissies.

3. A tornado warning siren is your signal to go out in the yard and look for a funnel.

4. You know that the true value of a parking space is not determined by the distance to the door, but by the availability of shade.

5. Stores don’t have bags or shopping carts, they have sacks and buggies.

6. You’ve seen people wear bib overalls at weddings and funerals.

7. You think everyone from a Yankee-state has an accent.

8. You measure distance in minutes.

9. You go to the lake because you think it is like going to the ocean.

10. You listen to the weather forecast before picking out an outfit.

11. You know cowpies are not made of beef.

12. Someone you know has used a football schedule to plan their wedding date.

13. You know someone who has a belt buckle bigger than your fist.

14. Almost everyone you know is either Baptist or Methodist.

15. A Mercedes Benz isn’t a status symbol. A Chevy Silverado Extended Bed Crew Cab is.

16. You know everything goes better with Ranch dressing.

17. You learned how to shoot a gun before you learned how to multiply.

18. Ironically, you only crave Chik-Fil-A on Sundays..when it’s closed.

19. On one side of the road there’s Wal-Mart and on the other is a cotton field.

20. The directions to your house include “turn off the paved road.”

21. “Y’ALL” is a word.

22. Fried chicken is a major part of your diet

23. Krispy Kreme dounuts are the only kind of dounuts you eat.

24. You call it a cold Christmas if you don’t break out in a sweat in your new sweater.

25. When a single snowflake falls, the entire state shuts down, even if it doesn’t stick. The radio and TV news will make snowstorm reports every 10 minutes and the grocery store will be completely sold out of bread, milk, bottled water, toilet paper, and beer.

26. People actually grow, eat and like okra!

27. You know the difference between a Hillbilly, a Redneck, and a Southerner.

28. Your dog and your wallet are both on chains.

29. Panama City Beach, Florida is a big deal.

30. You understand that at least once a year your car will turn yellow with pollen.

31. You know at least one Bubba, and maybe a few guys named Bo.

32. You say “tuna fish sandwich.”

33. You use “Sir” and “Ma’am” if there’s a remote possibility that person you’re talking to is least 30 minutes older than you are.

34. Braves=good. Yankees=bad.

35.You love sweet tea, mashed potatoes, biscuits, and all Southern comfort food…and Southern Comfort.

36. You dont appreciate it, You preciate it.

37. Your last words might be, “Y’all watch this.”

38. Herschel Walker, Larry Munson, Sid Bream, Hank Aaron are legends.

39. You are 100% Georgian if you have ever had this conversation:

“You wanna coke?”

“Yeah.”

“What kind?”

“Sprite”

11 Responses to “You Know You’re From Georgia If….”


  1. March 12, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Pretty much the only ones I agree with are the ones that you darkened, besides the “Y’all” one and the Sir and Ma’am. Of course now that I’m over 30 😦 I only say it to folks with grey hair. I like the Chick-fil-A one the best, though–That is so true! Well, I mean, mostly true. I crave Chick-fil-A just about everyday of the week, but especially Sundays.

  2. 2 kev
    March 13, 2007 at 10:33 am

    #39 is the best. I have had similar conversations, but I am one of the few Georgians who actually say the brand. “Coke” actually means Coke. It doesn’t mean “Coke if you sell Coke, otherwise give me a Pepsi.”

  3. March 13, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Amen, Kevin. Don’t go giving me a Pepsi when I ask for a Coke. Whatever! If its not on the menu, I ask before I order. I can’t stand to say, “I’d like a Coke, please” and them say, “Is Pepsi ok?” Or worse, for them to assume that you meant Pepsi and just give it to you anyway.

  4. 4 Leah
    March 14, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    I disagree with your “most Georgians,” Kevin, and with this “everything-is-a-Coke” idea in general. I think it’s a bit exaggerated. The deal is, we just don’t have a non-brand word like “soda” or “pop,” so any cola is a Coke. I’ve never heard a clear or yellow citrus soda referred to as Coke, and I listen for such things. I think “drink,” pronounced “drank,” is far more common. And people who want orange soda ask for “urnge.”

    As for the bib overalls at a wedding, must be an Eastman thang.

  5. 5 Leah
    March 14, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    Oh, yeah, according to the Coca-Cola rules, I’m supposed to write “Coca-Cola Classic” on this page. “Coke” is never to be used without also referring to it by its proper name.

    This is ser’us bidness.

  6. 6 Leah
    March 14, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    I disagree with your “few Georgians,” Kevin, and with this “everything-is-a-Coke” idea in general. I think it’s a bit exaggerated. The deal is, we just don’t have a non-brand word like “soda” or “pop,” so any cola is a Coke. I’ve never heard a clear or yellow citrus soda referred to as Coke, and I listen for such things. I think “drink,” pronounced “drank,” is far more common. And people who want orange soda ask for “urnge.”

    As for the bib overalls at a wedding, must be an Eastman thang.

  7. 7 Leah
    March 14, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    sorry–had to correct myself

  8. March 15, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Well, I only got 13 out of 39, so I’m still safely a Yankee 🙂 Oddly enough, before I met Brent, I only qualified for 5 of these facts. Thanks to Brent, I can now chalk up #s 6, 12, 13, 27, 31, and 39 (the other two I blame on Milledgeville).
    BTW, my spell check has no idea what Milledgeville might be.

  9. March 15, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    I don’t care what people say, I’m still gonna use the word “buggy”.

    Saying “shopping cart” instead of “buggy” feels the same as saying “culinary engineer” instead of “cook”.

  10. March 16, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    I remember when I went off to college and came back to visit family in Eastman, people at church would say, “you talk like you got a city accent”. Perhaps that’s a “You know you’re from a small town when…”

    Hey you know why most NASCAR fans don’t like Jeff Gordon, ’cause he ar-tic-u-lates.

    sorry that’s the only dumb joke I know

  11. March 18, 2007 at 11:54 am

    I disagree, Lance. You know many dumb jokes. Don’t sell yourself short. Let you lame humor shine!

    I discovered a possible addendum to this post. Another southern thing to do is to say “Coke-ola”. I heard it used yesterday.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


