07
Jun
07

Faux Macbook

Faux Macbook 1I have such wonderful friends. One of those great friends is Ray Williams. Ray has recently joined the ranks of Mac users of which I have been a member since 2005. Saturday, June 2 Ray purchased an Apple Macbook. But he was not about to let his dear friend, Josh, go without joining in the fun.

So out of the goodness of his heart, Ray gifted me with a Faux Macbook. It has all the looks, charm, and chic of the other Macbooks, but with ZERO functionality! No more worries about the battery going dead because it doesn’t have one!. No more fretting about a screen with stuck pixels, because there are none!. I can rest assured that I will never use up the space on my hard drive, because…well, you get the idea. It even came equipped with a built in binder for storing all my important hard copies.

But Seriously, Folks

Faux Macbook 2There is a funny story to tell here. Ray brought his (real) Macbook over the other day to get me to help him with a few things since he’s still learning how to use his Mac. Well after we were finished I showed him that I still had the fauxbook that he had given me and he jokingly opened it and set it up on my desk. We had a good laugh about it and then I saw him to the door as it was time for him to go. Upon his departure, Lyndsay and I went to her parents’ house to eat dinner. I left earlier and came home to finish mowing the lawn. I walked in the front door, grabbed my iPod, and headed to the back door. In order to go out of our back door you have to go through our library which is where the computer desk is located. I glanced at the desk, gasped out loud, and listened to the thought that screamed through my head in shock, “Oh no! Ray left his Macbook here!!” Now there is something about these kinds of moments where all of these thoughts happen seemingly at once. When you are recounting them they take several moments to say, but in the actual moment it all seems simultaneous. As soon as the voice in my head completed stating the fear that Ray had forgotten to take his Macbook home, another voice seemed to come up on its heels and say “You’re a moron.” You have no doubt guessed by now: I mistook the faux Macbook for the real thing.

Moral of the Story: Ray makes things look real.

Josh H.

3 Responses to “Faux Macbook”


  1. 1 Ray
    June 7, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    Only the best for you, Josh! I was at the store yesterday and walked past the school supply area. I saw the three-ring binders that are about half the thickness as the one I gave you and wished that I had made your faux MacBook out of one of those. It woud have been just right and added that extra bit of Apple goodness. And I’m still conviced that the chime I hear upon startup is the exact same sound I’ll hear as I enter the gates of heaven. 🙂

  2. 2 Steve
    June 7, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Ray, I think you put that last line in there with the specific goal of setting Amy’s eyes rolling into perpetual motion.

  3. June 8, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    Hey, when we see St. Peter checking people into Heaven using some great database software on a Mac, I promise I won’t say “I told ya so.”


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


