14
Aug
07

I Really Am Rich

As I indicated in a previous post, my internet unexpectedly quit working here at home last week. In the wake of a rough lightning storm, I could not access the web at all. Through communication with the tech support of my ISP, I had determined that it was my computer’s Ethernet port. I was ready to put my beloved Mac in the shop and wait the many days in would no doubt take to have it repaired.

Well some friends suggested that possibly my cable modem, not my computer, was to blame. I was skeptical but decided to take their advice. Instead of taking my computer to the shop, I borrowed a spare cable modem from my father-in-law (what kind of guy has a spare cable modem??) and I hooked it up. I then booted my Mac and to my utter surprise it connected to the internet. Oh joy! So not only is my Mac back online, but also I spent exactly $0 in repairs.

As I began thanking God for His goodness and provision, it dawned on me to look around. Sitting in my library I suddenly said out loud to myself “It’s like I live in a palace.” Lyndsay and I love our home. We have everything we need. When I consider the ways of my former life before Christ, I am shocked at His grace. Grace had already taken on new meaning for me lately. Understanding that once I was friends with the world and at enmity with God (James 4:4) has given grace a new meaning. It is no longer a trite church word. It means something more now. It is not something I can explain either.

Take time to consider some of the truth of God’s word and what it says about sin. I have already mentioned James 4:4. Consider also Romans 1:18-25:

“For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and wickedness of men, who by their wickedness suppress the truth.”

And finally look to the words of Jesus in John 3:36:

“He who believes in the Son has eternal life; but he who does not obey the Son will not see life, but the wrath of God abides on him.”

When I consider that this was once the state I was in and I consider the kind of sinner I was, I am amazed that God was able to reach me. But I know that I should not be amazed. There is nothing that can hinder His will and there is no sinner that He is not able to reach and to save and to sanctify. All of the world stood guilty before God and then the unimaginable happened: “But God commends his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Romans 5:8).” And to those who have called on the name of Jesus for the remission of sins His grace continues to abound.

I am thankful to God for the ways he provides me with a home, a loving wife, reliable vehicles and a job. But there is something extra special when the Father provides in the small ways. In everyday circumstances His grace abounds. In our darkest hours His grace abounds. There is no sin He can not cover, and there is need for which He can not provide.

Josh H.

1 Response to “I Really Am Rich”


  1. August 24, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Very heartwarming post, babe 😉 I love you.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


