13
Sep
07

Falling Off the Hobby Horse

The CourageI’ve been thinking about how much more I used to be into music. I still love music and I always have something playing or I always seem to have a song in my head. But I used to be a lot more passionate about playing music. My afternoons during high school, once I was home, consisted of cranking my amp and learning or creating some great riffs. More often than not I would load up the 5-disc CD player on my rather large stereo system in my room with Smashing Pumpkins Cs, put it on random and play along with what ever song came on (since I knew how to play practically every one of their songs). Or sometimes I would load it up with different artists’ CD’s and play along.

Only very seldom do I still practice in this way (and with Christian artists rather than secular ones). I practiced and played a lot more at home when I was with my band The Courage a few years ago. We were together for nearly 4 years and played all over Georgia (and a couple of times in Tennessee, Florida, and Alabama). Since then it seems that my passion for playing has waned. Yes, I am thankful that I get to play at church with our great praise team every Sunday. And I certainly have not lost my desire and passion for leading the church in worship. But what I’m talking about is different. I can’t say how it is different; it just is.

It’s like Theoden, king of Rohan from The Lord of the Rings. He had been under a spell and was letting his kingdom and his authority as king waste away. Finally Gandalf came and set him free so that he could rule his dominion once again. But right after the spell was broken Theoden was still somewhat weak until Gandalf suggested “perhaps your fingers would remember their old strength if they grasped your sword.” Maybe if I just begin to play rock music and practice it and experience it again, then I will remember what a wonderful thing it is to play music.

Josh H.

5 Responses to “Falling Off the Hobby Horse”


  1. 1 Brent C
    September 13, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    So find a drummer and bass player and lets rock out!

    I’ve been getting back into playing guitar the last couple of months. I’ve been thinking lately about how it would be be fun to jam with someone (or multiple peoples)…

    Southern rock? Hard rock? Blues? (I’ve been listening to a bit of SRV as of late)

    Anything the categorizes as “rock” would be cool to me!

    I kinda know how you feel in some ways, because I lost my passion for gaming early in college, and then got it back sometime after I was married. ‘Course, my gaming is much more controlled and limited now – I don’t play the majority of the “big” games (like that accursed Grand Theft Auto Series) since so much of the game industry has fallen under the same curse of depravity that afflicts Hollywood. That’s why I’ve taken to going back and playing some of the old games I missed when I was a teenager…

  2. 2 Brent C
    September 14, 2007 at 6:55 am

    I realize that you fellows are a bit spread out at this point, but has there ever been any mention of “The Courage” reuniting for a one-time reunion show?

  3. 3 kev
    September 14, 2007 at 9:38 am

    I can somewhat relate, Josh. You didn’t know me “back in the day,” but I was once a baseball fanatic. Think of all my current interests (blogging, personal finance, web design and, yes, baseball), combine them and then double them. That is how much I was into baseball. It was “my thing” from ages 6 to 18.

    And then, once I hurt my elbow two weeks into playing college ball, all of a sudden I had to quit baseball cold turkey. Sure, I watched baseball on TV, but watching isn’t the same as playing (it’s like listening to a CD instead of playing your own music).

    After college, coaching high school baseball (and softball) allowed me to somewhat experience the game again. Getting into the game again, years later when I was older, changed the way I looked at it to a certain degree. Some of the change was for the better, some of it not. But I was glad to have the experience. It allowed me to appreciate this game I still love in all new way, but to also put it in the proper perspective.

    To sum up: I recommend your doing what I did, Josh. Go coach high school baseball.

  4. 4 Matt
    September 14, 2007 at 10:40 am

    You’re the only guy I know who can link rock music to Lord of the Rings…..and I’m not sure whether to compliment you on that or point and laugh! Anyway, I’m with ya man, I’m with ya. I once was very passionate about playing marbles. But then, I moved to a house where the dirt was so hard you couldn’t draw a circle in the sand on which to play. Then I lost my marbles……so that was the end of that!

  5. September 14, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Brent: No, we haven’t talked about having a Courage reunion, but I’ve had the opportunity to play with Matt. I had another opportunity this past summer but I had other plans already that I couldn’t cancel.

    Kev: coach high school baseball? Maybe I could go for the record of “coach with the most ill-coached team”. No, I don’t think any of us want that.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


