18
Sep
07

Timber!!

Ok, so last Thursday night Lyndsay is at ladies’ bible study. I had just come to the computer to check my email when suddenly I heard this loud crash outside the window. It was 10 p.m. by this time and I couldn’t see out. Needless to say it frightened the heck out of me. What could it have been?

I step out my back door and once my eyes adjust to the brightness of the porch light I see this monstrosity on top of my car port. As my vision clears I realize that said monstrosity is a huge limb. Apparently it had broken off from the nearby tree and it coming crashing down on my car port and also put a baseball-sized hole through the roof of it. I quickly grabbed my keys and moved my car because the car port is old I didn’t know how it’d hold up under such pressure and weight.

Well the car port did not come crashing down. But this past weekend Lyndsay and I decided to use my chainsaw and begin cutting it down. We climbed on top of the car port and began to cut away at the limb. We got to a particular point and realized that the part of the limb we were cutting on was the part that was bearing all the weight from the rest of the gargantuan branch. You see, the limb was still attached (somewhat) to the trunk of the tree. Once wrong cut and the rest of it would come crashing down. We called dad to get his help and direction on how to proceed. We ended up (or he ended up) climbing up and tying the fallen branch to an adjacent branch in order to allow the still-attached branch support the weight. This way we could still cut it but it wouldn’t fall anymore…theoretically. Well, the good news is, it worked and we got it all cut down and I’ve got plenty of firewood for this winter. The Lord doth provide.

I have posted some photos on Flickr displaying the aftermath and the clean-up.

Also Lyndsay took some video (which I’ve posted below) that shows the final cut that we did. In order to reach the spot that we needed to cut we used an extension ladder that we leaned against the side of the car port. But in order for dad to get high enough he had to basically overextend the ladder. So I had to hold up his weight to keep the ladder from falling forward. Turn on your speakers so you can hear Lyndsay’s priceless commentary.

Josh H.

2 Responses to “Timber!!”


  1. September 19, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    I DON’T think my dad is stupid- I was scared for his (and Josh’s) safety! This limb was huge and HEAVY and after several scary incidents earlier on this roof I was about ready to be done with it! My dad is awesome, though and even though he seems to make risky decisions, somehow he is always up for the challenge. Go Dad.

  2. 2 Matt
    September 19, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Nice hat Josh….where’d ya get it?


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


