10
Nov
07

My Acting Debut

Well, Lyndsay finally convinced me.

She is playing the part of Violet in Perry Players’ rendition of It’s a Wonderful Life. they pretty much filled the cast within the first week of try-outs. But they went several weeks with no one to play Harry, the brother of George Bailey (if I have to tell you who George Bailey is then you need more culture in your life, my friend!). Lyndsay browbeat me a couple weeks about playing Harry. Actually “browbeat” is not the right word. Because back in the spring when we first heard that the theater was going to be putting on this favorite of ours, I told Lyndsay I would be in it with her, but I chickened out once auditions rolled around.

It’s a Wonderful Life

Of course stage fright is not a problem for me (I stand before a crowd and play music every Sunday). My fear was not being able to learn my lines and blowing them on stage and not being able to recover. This would be most mortifying (did that sound like Bill & Ted?). Well, they finally was able to cast someone in the part of Harry. But there was still one more character to fill: Sam Wainwright. Well, last night I finally agreed that I would play the part of Sam. I will be on stage less than a minute and I will not have many lines so that will be good. But I just decided that since I love the story of It’s a Wonderful Life, I would probably regret later having not been a part of it. Plus over the past few weeks I’ve gotten to know other members of the cast and I really have hit it off with them. And then there’s “the kingdom angle”. Perhaps I could share the gospel with one of them.

So wish me luck, and to all who might understand: hee-hah!!

Josh H.


2 Responses to “My Acting Debut”


  1. 1 kev
    November 12, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Wait…

    Josh…

    The actor?!?!

    I knew if I kept wishing on shooting stars it would eventually come true!

    Since I am literally the only adult in the United States to have never seen “It’s a Wonderful Life,” I will be experiencing the story for the first time via this play.

    Not to put any pressure on all of you, but I’m expecting perfection.

  2. November 13, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Dude, I can’t believe it; I already have my lines memorized. Wanna hear ’em?


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff