14
Dec
07

Christian Charity at Christmas Time

I’ve been wrong from the beginnin’.
I’ve been wrong from the beginnin’.
If you’ve been losin’ while I’ve been winnin’,
then I’ve been wrong from the beginnin’.

I sit by the river; I got my feet in the water.
I feel about a dollar like I feel about a daughter.
If I’ve been laughin’ while you’ve been cryin’,
then I’ve been wrong from the beginnin’.

I got a house on the border, I got shoes made o’ leather.
I got a robe made o’ velvet, I got a bed made o’ feather.
If you’ve been freezin’ while I’ve been sleepin’,
then I’ve been wrong and for that I’m weepin’.
If you’ve been freezin’ while I’ve been sleepin’,
then I’ve been wrong and for that I’m changin’.

I’ve Been Wrong by the The Elms

Charles Dickens’, in A Christmas Carol, made an astute observation when he said that at this time of the year (ie. Christmas) generosity is most keenly exhibited and want is most keenly felt (I’m paraphrasing). It is my belief that so many government programs and welfare have arisen on account of the church withholding its aid to outcasts and the down-and-out. I am not talking about foolishly throwing away funds on those who do want hand-outs instead of help. I am talking about those unfortunates at whom life has thrown a curve ball from which they can not seem to recover. I am talking about the ones elsewhere in the world who have nothing on account of corrupt governments who neither fear God nor acknowledge that “all men…are endowed by their Creator with certain inalienable rights.” The church is to be the shining city on a hill. We are to be the shining city on a hill. Indeed I am to be a shining city on a hill.

“Come unto Me all ye who labor and are heavy laden and I will give you rest.” In all my gaining of theological knowledge and understanding throughout the year, the basic child-like truth is muddled or becomes unclear: “do unto others as you would have them do unto you. If I were downcast, needy, and I could not seem to get my head above water, I know how I would want to be “done unto”. I know I would welcome someone who could come alongside and help me bear the burden so that I could recover, overcome and then help others do the same. When did charity, care for the needy, and social consciousness become the hallmark of liberals? It was the domain of the church first. So this Christmas, as you are remembering how good you have it, do not forget those who do not and let’s be the church.

Josh H.

3 Responses to “Christian Charity at Christmas Time”


  1. December 15, 2007 at 12:14 am

    “…and the leaves of the tree are for the healing of the nations.”

    That’s it, man. Just think about how much money we have and blow on the desires of the flesh, including things that aren’t inherently sinful. What we (myself definitely included) do with the resources He’s given us for investment is analogous to embezzlement. I don’t care what your eschatology is: it’s the wicked servant who buries the talent and waits for his master to come back. “Get all you can, can all you get, and sit on the can”.

  2. December 15, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    “But if anyone has enough money to live well and sees a brother or sister in need and refuses to help-how can God’s love be in that person?” 1 John 3:17

  3. December 17, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    Amen. It’s not until I’ve been genuinely poor these past few months that I’ve truly realized just how much and how often I’ve squandered when I could’ve sown.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


