02
Jan
08

Mel Gibson’s Biggest (Closet) Fan

My wife and I have become movie fanatics in such a way that we watch movies more than we watch television. Which is cool with me because that way we can continue to say “we don’t watch that much tv” because we watch movies, which is different. But I digress.

As is usually the case, even though we both wanted to watch a movie, guess who has the job of choosing one? You guessed. Most awesome guy around: me. Well tonight, as usual, I was not in the mood to watch anything in particular so I picked several from which we could choose. The movies I laid out to choose from are as follows (in random order):

The first three Lethal Weapon films
The Village
Signs
Braveheart
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

I’ll give you three chances to tell me what is peculiar about these seemingly random movie choices. I laid out seven different filmsMel (if you count the Lethal Weapons separately) and five were Mel Gibson films. Now it is true that I do enjoy Gibson’s films very much and I have seen a lot of his movies. But he never would have been at the top of my list. If you asked me to list my five top favorite movie actors you would find Jimmy Stewart and Cary Grant to be sure. Perhaps you would also see Tony Shaloub and Chuck Norris. Ok, maybe not Norris but I certainly would not have thought of Mel Gibson. Yet out of our widely eclectic movie collection I choose five Gibson films.

There’s a saying (I believe it’s from a song) that states “strangers are just friends you haven’t met yet”. Perhaps Mel Gibson is a favorite actor of mine that I have not recognized yet. Mel, if you’re reading this, I might really be your biggest fan.

Josh H.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


