22
Jan
08

Heath Ledger Found Dead

heath ledgerI know that The Smoak House is not the place for the latest Hollywood gossip but I just heard the report that Heath Ledger was found dead in an apartment owned by Mary-Kate Olsen in New York. He was found today (Jan. 22) around 3:30pm EST and authorities state that the probably cause of death was a drug overdose since pills were found near his body.

I bring this up because, well first of all it is sad. Too many celebrities’ lives end this way. But also I am concerned about what will happen with the film The Dark Knight in which Ledger was to play the infamous Joker. A trailer for the film has been released indicating that filming is most likely nearing completion (in fact it may already be in post-production). I am a big fan of the Batman franchise and I have been particularly anticipating this newest movie which was to be Christopher Nolan’s second Batman film. It is my assumption that most of the filming is done but I suppose that if any additional scenes with Ledger were to be done in post-production that those would have to be foregone. But it seems that this year we will be seeing a posthumous performance by Ledger.

This is a sad story and I wish that more celebrities would stop and take notice of the destructive lives they lead. I wish they would see that it does not have to be this way.

Josh H.

2 Responses to “Heath Ledger Found Dead”


  1. January 22, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    What? Saige is commenting?
    You know, the first thing I thought of was “What will happen with Batman?”. Then I read that the poor fellow had been having trouble sleeping–he said recently that two Ambien only lasted an hour. (An overdose of sleeping pills are most likely the cause of death.) It hurts me to think of being so in need of rest that you would need them to begin with–and then to take too many because the regular dosage wasn’t enough (this coming from a sleep deprived mother who should already be in bed, but got caught up in the Heath Ledger story). He was only 28. Saddest of all, he had a 2 year old little girl. Reading all of that makes me so sad that my first concern was the status of my long-awaited summer blockbuster.

  2. January 23, 2008 at 7:38 am

    me too, Saige. I felt pretty selfish for thinking that way.

    I just pray that God will somehow take care of his little girl.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


