28
Feb
08

Who Was the Best Saved By the Bell Cast Member?

The Smoak House is a place for a many different types of discussions. And I realize that not all topics will appeal to all readers. Recently there was great discussion concerning some aspects of the teaching of Jesus that I believe was beneficial to all involved. However I know that it may not have been a discussion that everyone could get in on. So in order to provide a variety of content that will engage perhaps a different demographic than the “Derek Webb/Mockingbird” discussion, I ask you to consider who was the best Saved By the Bell cast member.

zack.jpg Zack Morris: Zack was the main character of the show and the only one given the “power” to penetrate the ‘fourth wall’ and speak directly to the audience. Most of the “life lessons” taught through the show were at Zack’s expense. He was also the most popular guy in school, class clown, guy who got all the girls…basically everything I wasn’t. Oh and he so had a major crush on Kelly Kapowski (that was some Saved By the Bell era lingo for you all).

slater.jpg A.C. Slater: Macho guy and arguably second-in-command in Bayside High’s head honchoes of cool (second only to Morris, or “preppy”). Slater got a kick out of showing off his muscles and athletic ability. His girlfriend was Jessie Spano (who he lovingly called “mama”). Slater was a strange one. Sometimes he was portrayed as being as smart and clever as Zack, and other times he behaved kinda dumb. Early in his tenure on the show, he and Zack were rivals but later became best friends. And on one episode he danced around in a tutu in order to show Jessie that he could be sensitive toward Jessie’s love of ballet and theater. Why do I know that?

screech.jpg Samuel “Screech” Powers: Screech was the able-bodied comic relief of the show. He was a total nerd and was portrayed as being very book smart but he was clueless when it came to being cool and radical. He was indeed an indespensible part of the because he was usually recruited by Zack and Slater to help them pull of their elaborated schemes (boys will be boys). Throughout most of the show he had a crush on Lisa Turtle though his affections were never returned. Later in the show (when his voice no longer cracked the same and sounded a little fake) Screech caught a girlfriend, the equally-nerdy Violet Bickerstaff. So in the end, Lisa was the only one without a date.

kellykapowski.jpg Kelly Kapowski: Cheerleader extraordinaire and Zack’s main squeeze. When she was not slinging poms-poms and shouting “Go Bayside”, Kelly was usually mad at Zack, trying to help Zack (and Slater), and once she was even cheating on Zack. Eventually she married Zack and I assume they lived happily ever after.

jessiespano.jpg Jessie Spano: Jessie was the girlfriend of Slater. She was the practical one on the show. She was also a complete overachiever who reveled in study and good grades. Her life’s dream was to see women more liberated and to get into Stanford University.

lisaturtle.jpg Lisa Turtle: Lisa was the resident Bayside socialite. She spent her time avoiding Screech. And in her own words her favorite things are “dating, guys, and dating guys.” She was also quite the fan of shopping.

mrbelding.jpg Mr. Belding: Poor Richard Belding. It was up to him to oversee this crazy mob. He often went around with the wool over his eyes (thanks to Slater and Zack) but he also managed to endear himself to the students of Bayside and every now and then Zack and Belding would have touching moment together. Then in the next episode Mr. Belding would be ready to give Zack detention for life.

Keep in mind that I have only included the cored Saved By the Bell cast, the one we all know and love. I have not included some of the other characters who came in and out of the show. My vote, in the end, goes to Zack Morris. Without him and his antics there would have been no show. Zack Morris forever!

Josh H.

5 Responses to “Who Was the Best Saved By the Bell Cast Member?”


  1. February 29, 2008 at 12:06 am

    It took me about a minute to read that…

    I’ll never get that minute back.

    Since I’m already here and wasting time…Screech 08!

  2. February 29, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Zach was a fun character, Josh, but I have always thought that if I had known him in real life, I would not have like him. I mean, you can’t trust the guy any farther than you can throw him. He lies and lies and lies in every episode. Therefore, I’ll have to cast my ballot for Screech as well. He’s funny and he seems like the sort of person I actually would have hung out in high school. I guess I have to live with what that says about me.

  3. February 29, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    @Heathe: wasting time, isn’t that what the internet’s all about?

    @Matt: I definitely see your point. I don’t subscribe to the belief that “nice guys finish last” but they definitely make for less interesting entertainment.

    I mean, could there have been a Luke Skywalker without Darth Vader? Where would Indiana Jones have been without the Nazis?

    Without being able to hang out with a popular (albeit lying) guy like Zack, Screech would have just been another face in the Bayside crowd.

  4. February 29, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Ehhh…didn’t watch a whole lot of this show. But I can tell you that I only appreciated Zack because he was one of the rare cases of a blonde guy being the cool one. I always hated having blonde hair.

    I’m gonna go with poor Screech, too. He should have been blonde.

  5. 5 kev
    February 29, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Wow. So does this mean I have the power to influence content simply by suggesting it?

    For next time, how about a discussion on the impact Alex P. Keaton had on today’s 30-something Republicans?

    BTW: Zach rules.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


