02
May
08

Where No Nerd Has Gone Before

I have turned into a real dork over the past several years. Now before I begin let me just say that I use the word “dork” in the most flattering, least offensive way possible. More specifically I have become a major Sci-Fi dork. It all started when my wife (she seems to be at the bottom of all this) got me to watch and become interested in Star Trek: The Next Generation.

I had always thought TNG was a pretty good show and I enjoyed the movies that came out while I was in high school. Still, in my mind, when I thought of Star Trek I thought of wormy little guys with acne
who went to conventions and greeted one another with the Vulcan “live long and prosper” hand gesture.

I still could not stomach the stereotypically “sci-fi” nature of the original series. Eventually Lyndsay and her brother led me into becoming a fan of other sci-fi entertainment such as the new Battlestar Galactica. Through all of this I became more excited and interested in space and space travel. I enjoyed the potential philosophical and theological implications of alien life. I started reading C.S. Lewis’s space trilogy at Lyndsay and Stephen’s urging (though I have yet to complete the third book) and it served to enhance my interest in alien beings and what their relationship (if any) to God is.

Are these beings even fallen? Did Jesus have to live and die on other planets as well? Were there
other “chosen peoples” such as the Israelites? Are there things about God’s character and nature that
are difficult for earthlings to grasp but are easier for these alien races to understand, and vice-versa?

Well recently I decided I would give Star Trek: The Original Series a chance. I figured it was a good time to since CBS.com has video-on-demand episodes of the show. It only took a couple of episodes and I was hooked. I love Captain Kirk, Mr. Spock, Scotty, Bones and the rest. The special effects and gadgets used on the show are far behind those of The Next Generation but give the boys a break, it was made in the 1960’s. Even still the story lines and mysteries that the crew must solve are intriguing. Lyndsay and I love firing up the old Macbook, hooking it up to our HDTV and enjoying “the voyages of the Starship Enterprise” as her fearless crew seeks out “new life and new civilizations.” Great stuff.

Then this week I made the final descent into dorkdom. I am not sure why or how it happened but I found myself on the NASA website reading an article on the plausibility of real-world interstellar travel via faster-than-light (FTL) propulsion. What a dork.

Have you ever seen the movie Galaxy Quest starring Tim Allen and Sigourney Weaver? Remember the nerdy kid named Brandon with the dark hair who ends up helping the crew? Yeah, I feel like that guy. Anyway, live and long prosper, my friends. And tell the carbon units who occupy your domicile that Josh says “greetings. I come in peace.”

Josh H.

2 Responses to “Where No Nerd Has Gone Before”


  1. 1 kev
    May 6, 2008 at 9:56 am

    "Remember the nerdy kid (in Galaxy Quest) named Brandon with the dark hair who ends up helping the crew? Yeah, I feel like that guy."
     
    I’m not sure this is technically ironic (Alanis Morissette has forever ruined me), but I find it funny that the "Brandon" kid in Galaxy Quest is now the "Mac" guy in those Mac vs. PC commercials, and you — obviously — worship all things Mac.
     
    It’s as if it was destiny.

  2. May 6, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Kev, it’s either destiny…or a….conspiracy.
     
     


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


