23
May
08

How About a List About Me?

Well both Lyndsay and Heather created some great lists of things about themselves. Heather made a whopping 100 hundred item list! Lyndsay came in second with an impressive 60. Me? I’ll just go until I can’t think of anything else about myself. I’ll try to make it things no one knows (except Lyndsay, she pretty much knows everything about me).

  1. From the time I was 3 until I was about 9 I would occasionally have seizures. The type I had were called grand mal seizures. The doctors never figured out what caused them.
  2. I had a cat named Sam when I was young
  3. Before that I had a small dog named Smut (he was all black)
  4. I have a half-brother named Jake (we have the same mother)
  5. I also have two other half-brothers named Cody and Dylan (my father had them with the woman he married after my mother. I have not seen them in about 23 years. Chances are they don’t remember me.
  6. The school where I attended Kindergarten through 4th grade, Eastman Elementary School, is no longer a school. Sad.
  7. For years, my favorite teacher was my kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Harrison, even though she paddled me on a few occasions for acting up.
  8. My 5th grade home room teacher was a lady named Mrs. Parkerson. She was really old and had a reputation for being very mean (and she was).
  9. By a cruel twist of fate, the school moved Mrs. Parkerson to 6th grade the following year. Guess who had her for home room…again?
  10. I did not start listening to rock music until 7th grade.
  11. The first rock band that I ever noticed and started liking was Guns n’ Roses.
  12. Before I got into rock music the artists I liked were Tears for Fears, MC Hammer, Vanilla Ice, Janet Jackson, and Michael Jackson. Praise the Lord for rock n’ roll!
  13. The Guns n’ Roses cassette I ever bought was Use Your Illusion I and soon thereafter I purchased Use Your Illusion II.
  14. I had a Tears For Fears LP called Songs From the Big Chair that I used to listen to ona record player in my room. My favorite songs were Shout and Everybody Wants to Rule the World.
  15. I started playing guitar the summer after 7th grade due largely to my love for Slash’s playing (he’s the guitar player for Guns n’ Roses).
  16. My first guitar was a Synsonics guitar from the Sears catalog. It was solid white. I don’t know what ever happened to it.
  17. I was about 9 years old when I first saw Back to the Future. It immediately became my favorite film and remains so to this day.
  18. I own my dream guitar, a Gibson Les Paul Standard.
  19. Another guitar I have wanted to own for a long time is a Gibson Flying V
  20. In high school my favorite band was Smashing Pumpkins.
  21. At one time I knew how to play every song on the Smashing Pumpkins album Siamese Dream.
  22. I have never been outside of the United States (not even to Canada).
  23. I have barely been out of the Southeast. I have never been further north than New Jersey or further west than Mississippi.
  24. The first songwriting project I remember working on was when my friend Marc (was a great bass player)and I started writing a song that we dubbed “Derailed”. We never finished because the more we worked on it the more we realized that it was really kind of a lame song.
  25. I was in a band off and on throughout high school with some other guys and we called ourselves Screaming Mary. We never played a single gig. Unless you count our neighbors who got to hear us rehearse all the time.
  26. I came up with the name Screaming Mary. The other guys didn’t really like it but no one offered any other suggestions.
  27. At one time we had three guitarists. It was crazy.
  28. The singer Jamie and I were the principle song writers. We wrote a bunch of songs but the only one I remember is one called “Dog Smile”. Jamie wrote the lyrics. I never did know what it was about.
  29. We did book one gig once; it was to be a birthday party for someone. The party ended up being cancelled.
  30. I had never seen all of the Star Wars movies all the way through until some friends and I in high school decided to watch the entire trilogy in one sitting. It was fun.
  31. I have never had a car accident.
  32. I have been involved in three accidents in which I was a passenger.
  33. Two of those three wrecks the same person was driving and two involved a deer (not the same deer).
  34. A good friend of mine named Kaylin was killed in a car accident about three years ago. He was a guitarist and his mother gave me his guitar as a gift after his death. I promised to never get rid of it and I certainly never intend to.
  35. People always thought Kaylin and I were related because not only did we hang out alot but folks saidwe favored and that we talked alike. I never saw the resemblance but I definitely could hear the similarity in our voices.
  36. Playing with Mordecai’s Courage at the Middle Georgia College BSU was the first time I ever playedChristian music.
  37. The singer for Mordecai’s Courage Matt and I did not really get along at first, however now we are the best of friends. In the beginning we just didn’t really “get” each other.
  38. The first time I met Lyndsay was at the MGC BSU. No sparks flew at all.
  39. I broke up with my girlfriend the night I met Lyndsay at the BSU (though it had nothing to do with meeting Lyndsay–it had everything to do with that girl being a weirdo).
  40. The next time I saw ZZ was at a MC gig at The Vine coffee house…sparks flew.
  41. From the time I first became interested in Lyndsay at The Vine I knew she was someone I could marry and be with all the time.
  42. She later admitted having similar thoughts.
  43. In the spring of 2000, not long before we were married, Lyndsay and I said goodbye to secular music.
  44. For a musician whose greatest influences and inspirations were Smashing Pumpkins, Metallica, Led Zepplin, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, etc., that did not seem like an easy thing. But I never looked back. His grace is sufficient.
  45. I currently have been working for MTI for 4 years and 10 months. This is the longest I have ever held the same job.

Forty-five seems like a good number to stop at. Anything else you wanna know about me?

Josh H.

4 Responses to “How About a List About Me?”


  1. 1 Brent
    May 23, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    What is the most difficult song you have ever learned to play in entirety? (Solo(s) not necessarily included)

  2. May 24, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    Probably the song To Live Is To Die by Metallica that I had to learn with a couple of guys for a school talent show.  I worked and worked at it.  Even though I had been playing guitar for a while by this time, the rhythm and the quick strumming/palm muting was difficult.

  3. May 24, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I think I had heard all those except for the "birthday party gig that never was". I’m glad you’re my unique little husband! 😉

  4. 4 Tiffany
    May 28, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    I enjoy reading your blog, you write well. I remember one of the accidents with one of the deer, poor little thing never knew what happened. And I just realized as much as I was around all of you in high school, you were the only one that I ever heard play anything, although I knew there was a band.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


