07
Jul
08

Bad Things Come in Threes: Bah! Humbug!

I am lots of things. I am blond (sort of). I am bearded. I am easily annoyed when electronics don’t work properly. I am a pretty strong guitar player. I am a decently strong singer (I get by). I am a blogger. You get the idea.

One thing I am not is I am not superstitious. I think the whole idea of certain occurrences being evident of bad things on the horizon is ludicrous. I also scoff at the thought that certain inane actions on my behalf could have severe repercussions like some kind of graduated karma whereby the consequences are greatly out of proportion with the act. (i.e. breaking a mirror equals seven years of bad luck). If the best way from point A to point B is under a ladder, I will duck my head as I pass under it. If a black cat crosses my path, I will stop to pet it (and maybe even feed it). If I break a mirror, I buy a new one. If I look at my calendar and tomorrow is Friday the 13th I think “Great! Tomorrow’s Friday. It’s almost the weekend.”

Another superstition that I have heard of in recent years is the idea that bad things happen in threes. This can mean three things will tear up or three people will die or three pets will run away. Any time I have heard this one I have rolled my eyes. It puzzles me why people would live their lives in anticipation of bad occurrences just because they had a flat tire. However something pretty uncanny has happened. Granted this is but one occurrence and could be a coincidence but I will let you decide.

You all have heard of the disaster that struck my Macbook a week ago. Well, actually it was a subwoofer speaker that struck it, but you know what I’m saying. That issue still has not been resolved. Well what you may not know is that the day before that happened I was pulling up some wild bushes. One bush was particularly stubborn because it had many small roots going here and yonder. So at one point I decided to use some shears to cut one of the roots. I placed the shears to the root, cut it and was met with a huge spark and a wisp of smoke. As you may have already guessed, the root was not a root but an electrical wire. It carries power to my workshop. So through that simple mistake I have had to buy new wire and a junction box and attempt to splice them together. It is going well but is time consuming.

So over the weekend I was thinking about these issues, the Macbook and the wiring, and it brought to mind the “things happen in threes” superstition. I quickly dismissed it. Then this past Sunday morning came. It was Lyndsay’s birthday and I was looking forward to giving her some presents and attending church and going out to eat. Lyndsay and I wake up and she hops in the shower. sadly the birthday girl was met with a cold shower. There was no hot water. Bad thing number three. My guess is this is simply a case of one of the hot water heater’s coils went out. This is a fairly simple and inexpensive replacement but it’s an annoyance nonetheless.

Of course this does not confirm the Three Bad Things superstition but it still annoys me that it will no doubt serve to fuel this superstition in those who know me who also hold to it. Look on the bright side: maybe next week, three super-great things will happen!

Josh H.

3 Responses to “Bad Things Come in Threes: Bah! Humbug!”


  1. July 8, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Josh,In an attempt to change your luck around I will be mailing you a rabbits foot, a four leave clover, and a box of me-lucky charms. Hopefully that will help!

  2. July 9, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Josh,
    This reminds me of a song from my childhood. I heard it almost every Saturday night.
    "Gloom, Despair and Agony on me (WHOA!) Deep dark depression, excessive misery. If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all. Gloom, despair and agony on me." I miss Hee-Haw…

  3. 3 kev
    July 10, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I USED to be superstitious…until that day I spilled my salt shaker at the restaurant and tossed salt over my shoulder for luck. The salt went right in the eyes of a waitress walking behind me, who was carrying a birthday cake for an 8-year-old’s party. The cake fell to the ground right in front of the little girl’s table. The little girl began to cry.
    In short, a superstitious act caused me to ruin a little girl’s birthday party. Of course, I have it on good authority she was spoiled, so maybe it was God’s will.
     
     
     
     


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


