25
Aug
08

Why Do People Wear Crocs?

Crocs are really ridiculous in my opinion. A lot of folks in the medical profession wear them and they look okay because Crocs look like nurse shoes. I’m not sure why but they just do. But why do normal people wear them with normal clothes? And they buy them in goofy-looking colors. That’s fine for little kids, but I’m talking about full-grown adults.

Crocs seems like they are for people who want to wear something more liberating than tightly tied tennis shoes in the summer time, yet they are embarassed enough about their feet to not wear flip-flops. They’re sort of like having “shoe-flops”.

I can imagine that somewhere out there the inventor of Crocs is laughing all the way to the bank. Can someone explain why these are in style?

Josh H.

11 Responses to “Why Do People Wear Crocs?”


  1. August 25, 2008 at 8:46 am

    I wish I had an answer..maybe because you can wash them in the dishwasher..

  2. August 25, 2008 at 9:46 am

    I suppose it would be handy to be able to wash one’s shoes in the dishwasher.

    But I don’t know if it’s worth the price of looking goofy.

  3. 3 fremenalex
    August 25, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Crocs remind me of when in high school everyone and their dog had to wear Birkenstocks to fit in. Not that there’s anything wrong with them, I just resisted them like the plague just like I’m anti-croc. And in my opinion, they don’t look that comfortable, they just look like they stink because the cheap plastic makes your feet sweat. They’re in style cuz people like to follow trends. Probably Oprah used them once, so that makes them cool.

  4. August 25, 2008 at 10:52 am

    @fremenalex: you must be younger than me because I was in college when Birkenstocks were “in”. Good grief o’ mighty them things are UGLY.

    Have you ever noticed how, at restaurants, the price of a meal is inversely proportionate to the size of the meal (i.e. the larger the price, the smaller portions). I think the same goes for shoe popularity and their unattractiveness. You can bet that if a shoe is ugly as Cain’s sin, then it’s gonna be the most popular thing since jellies.

  5. 5 fremenalex
    August 25, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Very good hypothesis there with the price thing. One common denomenator that I’ve seen is that A:People are so proud of their Crocs just like the sandal people back in the day, B: When it gets cold, instead of wearing real shoes, they opt to wear socks with their atrocities, and C: They look fuglyyy, even with the little accessories they put on there. Yup, there’s accessories to them.

  6. September 2, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Accessories? Accessories!!??

    What in the world could possibly accessorize Crocs with?

    I’ve seen guys wear pink Crocs. I don’t get it. I’m not that outta touch! I’m only 29!

  7. 7 fremenalex
    September 4, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Well I’m 30. And as someone older, let me give you a little advice: Stay the hell away from a guy wearing pink crocs!!!
    Accessories are these things called Jibbitz, which are little round plugs that go in the croc holes, most often letters so you can spell your name on your shoes. They also have turbo straps, Croc knee pads, Prima crocs for the ballerina in all of us, and my favorite, Off road crocs. I’m sorry to say its true.

  8. September 4, 2008 at 7:01 am

    holy frijoles! This is insane. It’s bad enough that such things as Jibbitz exist, but did they have to give it such a ridiculous name?

    Fremenalex, you are indeed older and wiser and you have opened my eyes to things both great and terrible.

    This Croc epidemic is worse than I thought. Can anyone stop the madness!?

  9. 9 ConvertX
    July 10, 2009 at 10:36 am

    I was once like you….hated them and the people that wore them. Then once on a dare, I wore a pair. I’ll be dammed if they weren’t the most comfortable shoes I had worn! I’m one of those “summer wearers”. I have 2 pair (no outrageous colors just khaki and black) that I wear to the beach or out in the yard. I don’t care much for flip flops so these just seemed like a good slip on shoe for running here or there. Yes maybe I look like a goofball wearing them but at my age, I don’t care much what people think of how I dress anymore. I think you should try some on sometime…..not out in public, but just give it a shot once and see what you think. No one will think less of you if you find you like them!

  10. July 10, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    @ConvertX: haha! I’ll think about it. Maybe if you dare me? 😉


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


