16
Sep
08

My Daily Reading of Proverbs

“The blessing of the Lord brings wealth,and he adds no trouble to it.”
Proverbs 10:22

My morning routine once I arrive to work is to log into my computer and then read a Psalm and a chapter of Proverbs. I have only recently started this practice and it has been extremely helpful to me. I have tried to really pay attention to what I am reading and see how I can apply that day. Sometimes I don’t finish because a particular verse will catch my attention and I will read and think about it. Today that happened again.

The twenty-second verse of Proverbs 10 held my attention because it made me think about something. First, I am a tight-wad. I don’t like to spend money that doesn’t need to be spent (so I take a long time to make big purchases), I despise being in debt (though home improvement repairs in the past have put us there), and I enjoy saving money (big deal! Who doesn’t?). It all comes down to the fact that I want to be financially secure. I won’t to remove the headache of worrying about bills, living costs, etc. so that we can simply live our lives and raise our children (when that time comes).

That final sentiment is also what drives me to be successful in my job. I am sometimes disgruntled with my work because I have a college education yet I am working alongside folks who do not. In fact one person came to work here after working at a pizza joint. That person is actually a good, hard worker so I do not mean to speak of him/her disparagingly. I am simply saying that it has bothered me at times that I do the same job as a non-college educated employee. Maybe that’s silly, but hopefully you can understand.

However it is Our Sovereign God who brings wealth and who provides success. And there is not trouble or strife in it. No, I haven’t gotten onto the prosperity gospel bandwagon. And I never will. To me the beauty of this verse is not the blessing or wealth part, it’s the peace part. The lack of trouble. Too many men spend their lives and their time accumulating wealth and they have good reasons in mind (their family, security, standard of living), but with it comes absence, stress, and temptation. Some have even fallen into sin or relaxed their integrity.

I have faulted myself for not being more aggressive in my attempts to further my career within my company. Then I keep thinking about 1 Peter 5:6-7: “Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.” Perhaps aggression self-promotion is not the way for a Christian to be successful.

Josh H.

1 Response to “My Daily Reading of Proverbs”


  1. September 17, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    It is amazing the difference between desiring something for it’s own sake (idol) and desiring something, yet content in God. Great observation. One verse the Spirit reminds me of: “Keep your life free from the love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.'” Hebrews 13:5


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


