08
Oct
08

Back To Basics: or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the .Com

You are probably noticing one of two things right now if not both. First of all the most obvious is that even though you went to the usual Smoak House URL, now that you are here the address bar of your browser lists a different URL than what you probably typed in or clicked. Haven’t seen that in a while have you? So what gives?

I didn’t invent a time machine to win at gambling! I invented a time machine to travel through time!

My frustration over the trouble I have been having with my web host, Justfree.com, has reached the height of its fury. I had to come to grips with the fact that, regardless of how fun it is to semi-design and maintain your own website, maintenance and troubleshooting was beginning to take the place of content development. Even though it’s interesting and a great learning experience to toy with PHP, HTML, CSS and a host of other acronymns that have no meaing to most of you, writing and networking was my main purpose for starting a blog. In other words, I didn’t start a blog primarily for geeky backend stuff. I started a blog to share ideas, opinions, and my life with my friends. Doesn’t that make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside? So in order to keep my blogging priorities straight I have decided to retreat with my tail between my legs to the WordPress.com fold where hosting is still free, customer support actually exists, updates are automatic, and I can close my eyes to the back end of things and simply express myself (that sounded too much like a Madonna song*). Hopefully I do not sound too much like a quitter. I enjoy web design but my artistic side is much stronger than my technical side and I would rather write than troubleshoot. I gotta be me!

The second thing may not be so obvious especially if you just woke up, are reading this with your eyes closed**, or are painfully, even sinfully, unobservant. The Smoak House has undergone yet another face lift. I enjoy it when my favorite websites or blogs update their look once a year or so because it keeps things interesting. So I am practicing what I preach. Plus something you may not know is that this week marks the two year anniversary of The Smoak House. Now if you will remember, my blog started out with a green look with an antique guitar situated in the header. Then for the next iteration of The Smoak House I decided to include my mug (or at least half of it) in the header against a cool red background. Now I’m going with a darker look. I really like these colors. The header image may change here and there just to keep things interesting so be on the look out for that.

Josh H.

*That girl ain’t right.

**That also ain’t right

4 Responses to “Back To Basics: or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the .Com”


  1. October 8, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    One of these days, you’re going to have to actually watch Dr. Strangelove.

    Hey – cool tagline! 😉

  2. October 8, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    I really should watch it! Hey! That can go on my “while Lyndsay’s out of town” movie list! Thanks Steve.

    And thanks for the tagline. Matt’s not so happy. He wants to appeal!

  3. 3 Matt
    October 12, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Appeal? APPEAL!!! I don’t want to appeal, unless you call me beating your face in an appeal…and that’s right Steve your next…taking my title…you’re going down! Although I may be a bit more aloof with my attack, what with all that mention about “back end” stuff in your blog there! Yikes!

  4. October 13, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Matt, don’t let the sun go down on your anger…

    or I’ll body slam you.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


