20
Dec
08

Georgia’s Winters Play Catch-up

today-weather-forecast1I was originally going to title this post “Dixie’s Winters Play Catch-up” (which would go along with my recent Civil War fetish).  But I can’t really speak for all of the states in the South, only Georgia.

Have you ever noticed how winter in Georgia and the corresponding weather are always a little behind? Let’s take the cold months for example.  September still feels pretty much like August.  October and November might be cooler but it’s hit-and-miss.  Then finally in December it starts to feel like fall.  Not too cold, a little breezy, sunny and you can still ride with your car windows down (which I did earlier this week).   There may even be some years when you can wear shorts on Christmas Day…that ain’t right.

Then come late January and February and it finally starts feeling like winter. It gets pretty cold actually. But don’t get used to it because along comes March and BAM, it starts getting warm again.  We pretty much have summer from some time in April until October.  Some days you can still go swimming in late September.

I love the ol’ South. It’s a great place to live.  But lordy mercy I’d like to have some cold Christmases sometimes.

Josh H.

10 Responses to “Georgia’s Winters Play Catch-up”


  1. 1 angi
    December 20, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Yep, sounds a lot like Oklahoma, although there the weather flips really fast. I checked the weather for Oklahoma City last week, and it literally was going from 70 one day to 37 the next day to 65 the next day to 22 the next day…I like my steady weather!

  2. 2 Cherie
    December 23, 2008 at 1:35 am

    I live in Washington State where we’ve been snowed in for a week. I love a white Christmas, which oddly enough the snow usually seems to avoid. Looks like this year will be the year of real snow. I doubt there was a run on flocked Christmas trees. Real trees are plentiful around here with quite a few Christmas tree “farms” where you pick out your tree and cut it down yourself. Although I’ve visited Georgia and I have to say I miss the sweet tea, hashbrowns scattered all the way, and Cat fish from Ol’ McDonald’s Fish Camp. I’m sure you’d enjoy the cold weather and the opportunity to Urban Snowboard, it is however the land of Microsoft. (gasp!) We also have Nintendo….perhaps that makes the score card even? I for one am looking forward to Christmas dinner, and my Cajun Seasoned Turducken. If you send me food, maybe I can work out a deal to send you some snow?

  3. December 23, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    @Cherie: Sounds like a neat trade, however you’d get the much better end of that deal. You’d end up with some delicious catfish, fried chicken, dumplings, and grits. But I’d end up with melted snow (a.k.a. water).

    Turducken? I guess that’s some mixture of turkey, chicken, and duck.

  4. December 24, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Turducken is a duck, stuffed in a chicken, stuffed in a turkey. I’ve never had it, but it sounds disgusting.

    Also, catfish is gross, fried chicken is a heart attack waiting to happen, dumplings are good in soup, and grits just make me think of Cream of Wheat with brown sugar, and I have it on good authority they’re not the same, but I don’t think I could ever eat them with cheese or whatever you put on them there. 😉

  5. December 24, 2008 at 11:36 am

    @Angi: Grits are good with cheese and bacon and eggs mixed together. Yummy!

    I am officially hungry now.

  6. December 24, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Oh, and have you ever had collard greens? Put some jalapenos on that junk and put it on a plate next to some ham and you’ve got a meal!!!

  7. December 24, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Gross….and gross…

    I’d rather have a nice piece of grilled salmon with some lemon juice, with sides of asparagus and garlic mashed potatoes, butter only. Add a nice glass of chardonnay and you’ve got yourself a real meal. 😉

  8. December 24, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Now I love grilled salmon. That is what I always get at Red Lobster. I actually have to avoid fried food b/c of my cholesterol.

  9. December 24, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Grilled food is way better for you anyway! I could be a vegetarian so easily, if only I didn’t like seafood so much…

  10. December 24, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    No way I could be a vegetarian. I love beef and chicken too much. I have to limit my intake of those of course.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


