31
Dec
08

Stone of Remembrance

Setting up stones of remembrance is an idea that comes from the book of Joshua (chapter 4) when Joshua led the Israelites across the Jordan river. I have learned about stones or monuments of remembrance from my pastor Herb Dean and recently I heard R.C. Sproul speak on the topic as well.

When the Israelites were preparing to cross the Jordan over into Canaan (ie. the promised land), they were ordered by God to carry the Ark of the Convenant across. The problem was the Jordan had overflowed its banks and it was going to be dangerous for them to cross. Miraculously God stopped the flow of the Jordan the moment that the feet of the men carrying the Ark touched the water. Therefore the entire Jewish company crossed the Jordan on dry land. Afterward, God commanded that a man representing each tribe should take a stone from the bed of the Jordan and when they reached their lodging place they would build a memorial with those stones. And they were told that when their children ask what the memorial means the response will be “The waters of Jordan were cut off before the ark…when it passed over Jordan.”

This same type of memorial can and should be erected in a spiritual sense in the lives of new convenant believers. One such stone of remembrance that may be erected in one’s memory is the day you were saved. I can remember the day (or evening rather) that I was born again. It was when I attended a worship service at the Middle Georgia College BSU when I was taking classes there. In one fell swoop during a time of worship, prayer, and introspection, the Holy Spirit revealed that “walking of the aisle” I undertook in 9th grade was a farce and that I had done it because my peers in youth group did it (more particularly a girl I liked did it–lame). Since that time I had zero, ZERO, evidences in my life that I was a Christian.

However after that evening at BSU, I knew I was different. I didn’t suddenly become perfect or turn into the second coming of St. Augustine or anything. But I knew I was different and that something had happened to me. That is a moment in time when I can look back and say “God truly spoke to me. Regardless the whirlwind my life may be in the present, or how silent He seems to be now, God spoke to me in my hour of greatest need, namely when I realized I was a doomed sinner.”

I hope that 2009 will bring more opportunities for you to erect memorials of what the Lord is doing so that at some future time you will find comfort in the memory or be able to instruct others out of your experiences with God.

Josh H.

1 Response to “Stone of Remembrance”


  1. 1 Matt
    December 31, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    You mean to tell me you blogged about stones of remembrance and didn’t use the word “Ebenezer” once? Horrific Josh…just unacceptable!

    Good blog nonetheless!


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


