14
Jan
09

Honest Scrap—In Yo’ Face!

I have gotten plenty of memes in my time as a blogger but never an honest-to-goodness award. Angi over at We Sleep for Dreaming has nominated me with the prestigious (yet most likely unheard of)…

Honest Scrap Award

honest_scrap_award

When accepting this auspicious award, you must write a post bragging about it (hence my over-the-top cocky title for this post), including the name of the misguided soul who thinks you deserve such acclaim, and link back to said person so everyone knows he or she is real. Choose a minimum of 7 blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. Or improvise by including bloggers who have no idea who you are because you don’t have 7 friends. Show the 7 random victims’ names and links and leave a harassing comment informing them that they were prized with “Honest Weblog.” Well, there’s no prize, but they can keep the nifty icon. List at least ten honest things about yourself. Then, pass it on!

Ten honest things…okay, here goes:

1. I don’t know if I seem this way to others or not, but I’m actually a little vain. I care about how my clothes and hair look—and yes, sometimes messy IS the look I’m going for.

2. I have been a nail-biter for as long as I can remember. But I have quit for extended periods at least a hundred times. I am now in one of those no-biting periods. Is it for keeps? We’ll see. And for the record, nail biters don’t bite because it feels or tastes good. Nor do we bite simply because we’re nervous. Usually it has to do with trying to smooth out a jagged nail and we can’t quite get it. It’s an OCD thing. It has nothing to do with sadism.

3. One of my aspirations is before I buy the farm I want to write at least one book and have it published.

4. I am vain when it comes to objects I own too. I am an aesthetics kind of guy. I like for my electronic gadgets to not only perform their basic function but to look awesome while doing so. This does NOT make me metro!

5. I sometimes daydream about what I’d say in press conferences if I were the President.

6. I prefer nonfiction over fiction.

7. My first “favorite band” was Guns n’ Roses. I started playing guitar because I wanted to be like Slash. The hair never quite worked out though. I do own a Gibson Les Paul though.

8. When I was 16 my dad, who lived in North Carolina then, bought my first car for me. It was in his name so it had a NC license plate and for some reason that embarrassed me despite the fact that no one ever said anything about it.

9. Every morning when I get out of bed the first thing I do is hook my iPod up to my Macbook and let it download and sync my latest podcasts. Wow! That totally made me sound like an Apple fanboy.

10. Sometimes at work in my cubicle I lip sync to what I’m listening to on my iPod.  I’ve nearly been caught a few times.

Now that you have all that dirt on me it’s your turn; I’m talking to you

Steve at Undeception

Heather at Heather’s Hodgepodge

Jason at Jason & Kimberly

Matt at Shared Ignorance

Leah at 152 Insights Into My Soul (just helping you get to 152)

Heath at Inside the Shack

and of course…

Zeez at Rear Window Ethics (who really, really needs some blog ideas)

Thanks, Angi, that was fun.
Josh H.

2 Responses to “Honest Scrap—In Yo’ Face!”


  1. January 14, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I am honored! Thank you! BTW, I’m with you about the nail-biting thing.

  2. January 14, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Um. Number 10? Looks familiar.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


