28
Feb
09

Pre-Death Aspirations

: or how I learned to stop worrying and steal material from SKOS

Kev at Special Kind of Stupid has written an interesting post called “10 Things To Do Before I Meet My Maker.” It was a fun read and caused me to ponder what pre-death aspirations I have. I just knew that all of you would be thrilled to know what they are–in true narcissist fashion.

  1. Have at least three children.  I know, I know. That seems like the easiet of all of these to accomplish.  The time will come.  But being that I am basically the last Horne male, continuing my family line is important. Naturally that is not the only reason.  There’s the Biblical mandate to be fruitful and multiply. Then there’s this strange internal, unexplainable drive toward parenthood.  There seems to be this innate desire to beget which I think is one of the marks of the Creator that is on man.
  2. Publish a book.  I have bits and pieces of ideas and many of those bits have ended up as posts on this blog.  Hopefully one day I will be able to put those down on real paper.
  3. See the abolition of the income tax. This may not see like a lofty aspiration but I believe that the income tax, which gives the federal government an enormous amount of power over us, is a vehicle for tyranny and I do not want my children (see #1) or grandchildren to live underneath it.
  4. Purchase a Gibson Firebird. As you can see by the price I am going to have to amass a small fortune to do so even at Musician’s Friend’s discounted price.  But oh, they are so awesome. I love Gibson guitars.
  5. Own a DMC DeLorean. This has been my dream car ever since I saw one take Marty McFly back in time. You’d think more manufacturers would include that feature. Go figure.
  6. Go to Disney World.  No, I’ve never been.
  7. Visit all 50 States.  And I mean in a vacation sort of way in which I actually do something and not just pass through.  Visiting friends or family also counts. So far I have been to Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, North Carolina, Maryland, Kentucky, Missouri, and New Jersey.  I went to Texas when I was a kid but I do not remember much about it so that does not count.
  8. Go on a cruise.  I know several people who have done it and it sounds so fun.
  9. Meet a friendly alien.  A Vulcan would be nice.
  10. Give my wife a Chevy Corvair.
3 Responses to “Pre-Death Aspirations”


  1. February 28, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    You do know that Boaz Alabama (where the corsair is located) is where I work.. it’s just miles from Matt’s house.

    You should come visit and buy your woman that car!

  2. 2 ann
    February 28, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    and if you want to meet a vulcan, go to birmingham. he’s been mooning the city since the 30’s–
    http://www.visitvulcan.com/

  3. February 28, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Good grief! That vulcan site scared me to death! Next time I won’t have the volume so high when visiting “alien” websites.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


