16
Mar
09

I Am Car Shopping

My 1997 Saturn finally threw in the towel, kicked the bucket, bought the farm, went to that big car lot in the sky. After 207,000 miles the old boy decided he could go no longer. This past Saturday morning the Saturn called it quits…in the middle of I-75 South. But what can I say, it served me well. I always said that I would drive it until it died and that day has come. I feel that I have gotten more than my money’s worth out of that car and now I am looking to replace it.

This brings me to my next point. I hate car shopping.  Well, not “hate” but it stresses me out.  I know plenty about cars. I understand them and when a car runs good and when it is a lemon, for the most part.  And even though I am no fan of price negotiation, the Internet has greatly increased the level of competition and it is not hard to find a fair price.

No, for me it goes back to what that wise sage Tom Petty once said: “The waiting is the hardest part.” Not only do I have to go to the bank and find out the amount that my credit (and current interest rates) will allow me to borrow. Next I have to find the right car in the right color with the right mileage at the right price. Even with the Internet that can be a feat.

Lyndsay and I have decided that price-wise, style-wise, and feature-wise, the Chevy Cobalt is for us. Well, that is unless we find a killer deal on a VW Jetta, which probably will not happen. But the Cobalt has a great style and is really roomy and it’s made in America!.

So even though I wish I could just go out, buy one, and be done with it, I know that my little adventure is just beginning.
cobalt

1 Response to “I Am Car Shopping”


  1. 1 Tiffany
    March 16, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Cobalts are pretty good cars. Have you thought of looking at Carmax. You can shop online to find out what may be in stock at what locations and you can search by price,mileage,etc also the carfax report is available on cars at Carmax. Craigslist also has cars although maybe not as new as what you may want. We just bought a car from craigslist and overstock.com also has cars. Just an idea. I enjoy the hunt of looking for the perfect car. It’s the parting with the money that makes me choke every time. Good Luck.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


