25
Jun
09

I Do: 9 Years Ago

On June 25, 2000 Lyndsay and I stood before God and man and declared our vows to love and cherish one another until death do us part.

I met Lyndsay in 1999 at a coffee house in Macon where my band at the time was performing. I had met her once before with no sparks flying but there was something magical in the air that night in Macon, I suppose. I remember thinking how pretty she was. After that night we were inseperable.

Us

We are consistently amazed at how God is continuously making us “one flesh.” She is my best friend in the whole world. If I had to live in seclusion with only one other person for the rest of my life and I could choose any one living or dead, famous or common, I would choose Lyndsay without flinching. Spend enough time with any one person and you will find things that annoy you. Lyndsay is the only person that I could spend 24 hours a day with and never grow tired of her company.

And our interests have been made more and more alike. Before we met she was sure that she would marry either an Airforce man or a baseball player (and definitely did NOT want to marry a musician). I am a guitarist of 15 years who is terrible at sports and has never served in the military. The other day I was talking about my guitar and she said “I’m glad I married a musician.”

By the day we made our wedding vows we had already discussed divorced. We decided it was never, ever an option. No matter how vicious any argument, no matter how deep a disagreement. It was never the way God intended marriage to work therefore it did not exist as an option. We have never come close to wanting a divorce, but just in case things ever get that bad, we are in this “for better or for worse”, come Hell or high water, and yes, even if the creek does decide to rise.

But the more we work, grow, and cultivate our marriage, the more we find that we can not live without each other. We both love home improvement, cats, Macs, rock music by Christian artists, sci-fi movies and books, short stories, DIY projects, theater, C.S. Lewis, audiobooks, classic films, Back to the Future, and we both have surrendered our lives to the lordship of Jesus Christ. And we look forward to a life together full of many more conversations consisting of “I sure like/dislike _________.” “Yeah, me too!”

5 Responses to “I Do: 9 Years Ago”


  1. June 25, 2009 at 8:08 am

    That’s because Macon /is/ magical–just very few people have discovered it 🙂
    I love hearing how you guys met. I kinda wish you had told the whole thing–its such a cute story.
    Congratulations, you two!

  2. 2 Tiffany
    June 25, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Congratulations on 9 years! I enjoyed reading the sweet things you wrote about your wife. I think you guys are adorable from what I’ve seen in pictures. And just so you know, I did try to come to your wedding. I just had poor directions and not a very good idea of how to navigate Warner Robins at the time. However, I did go visit a friend who had his appendix removed. So I traded one worthy cause for another.
    Enjoy your day of reminiscing.

  3. June 25, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Congrats! It really doesn’t seem like it was that long ago. Thanks for being such a good example to your other married friends (re: me). You two really have come together a lot in terms of interests, which is pretty different from most couples.

  4. June 30, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    I wish I had read this sooner! How sweet! I love you so much baby, and yes, I really am glad I married a musician! 🙂 So funny how different (better!!!) life is now than what I would have pictured just 10 years ago. I am so glad I made you marry me. LOL 🙂

  5. July 1, 2009 at 7:26 am

    haha! I love you, zeez.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


