26
Jun
09

Michael Jackson

It has been a long time since I have followed any of Michael Jackson’s music. The last album of his that I remember is the one with the song “Black or White.”  However when I was young (preteen or so) I really liked Michael Jackson’s music. For Christmas one year my mom gave me the cassette tape of his album “Bad.”  I must have listened to it in its entirety everyday for nearly a year. I loved that album.

But by the time I was 14 rock n’ roll had fully taken my attention. But even though I have not been a fan of the King of Pop  in a very long time, I was still saddened at the news that he had passed away yesterday (Thursday, June 25), the day Lyndsay and I celebrated our 9 year wedding anniversary.  We suddenly lived in a world without Michael Jackson. The world felt different.

I have seen great music artists pass in my time.  The most impactful perhaps was the suicide of Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain in 1994. I have also seen the passing of Blind Melon’s Shannon Hoon and Alice In Chains’ Layne Staley. But none of these had the influence on music and popular culture that Michael Jackson had. I suppose the only other artists whose deaths would be of the same magnitude would be Elvis Presley and John Lennon. The passing of both of these music legends marked the end of an era.  Regardless of how you feel about Jackson’s lifestyle, strange behavior, or music, his passing is the end of an era.

1 Response to “Michael Jackson”


  1. June 27, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    Hear, hear. Though I did not grow up on his music, I happen to be married to someone who did (David owned a “Thriller” tape). I respect the man’s talent and almost wish I had listened to him growing up so I could have joined in on everyone’s sadness yesterday. I felt kind of sad, but it didn’t really affect me all that much. But I sure wasn’t gonna join in with my I’ve-never-been-unsaved-enough-to-listen-to-Michael-Jackson Christian friends who started bashing him the day he died and couldn’t even mourn the death of a lost soul. So yeah. I appreciate your refreshingly not-too-biased attitude. Thanks


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


