31
Aug
09

Once Upon a Time, God…

Here’s a story:

Right after my parents divorced my mom was living in Atlanta and was taking care of me by herself. I was around two years old. Mama had barely ever lived on her own much less with a child. She had applied at numerous jobs but nothing was happening and she was running out of options, and money, and food. She knew she was on the verge of getting kicked out of her apartment. We had run out of food. She was feeding me eggs for supper each nite while she ate nothing. One night (and she was not particularly religious at that time) she got on her knees and prayed and told God that her money was gone and she just about out of food and she didn’t know where the next meal was coming from or where we’d live if they landlord kicked us out. She asked Him to intervene.

The next day Lithonia in Cochran (one of the places she had applied) called her to give her a job. The same day she was going through some things looking for clothes she could wear to her new job and found a check that she had never cashed. She could not recall where it came from or why she had stuffed it in that drawer.

I always think of that story when we’re falling on hard times or when I know that others are. I pray that this story about my mama will encourage you if current economic conditions have taken their toll on you. And may “my God…meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”

1 Response to “Once Upon a Time, God…”


  1. September 7, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    This was such a great story. Thanks for posting it.


Comments are currently closed.

Subscribe


Subscribe to Posts

Subscribe to Comments

Add to Technorati Favorites Technorati

Categories

Read the Old Stuff


